Sun, Sun Go Away

 

Daily Foglifter: Australian researchers have found that bad moods make people less gullible, more critical and also boost memory.

Apocalypse Thunder via Dimitri c and http://stockx.chng

I woke this morning to utter darkness and a heavy thunderstorm.  It set a tone.  A tone that was furthered by some disappointing news from a friend.  The battle she has been fighting appeared to be coming to an end, but dense thunderclouds have obscured the glowing horizon, yet again.  She’s tired.  She’s sad.  Worse, she’s discouraged.    My heart breaks for her and her family.

There are days when all I can see is what’s wrong with the world.  Today is one of them.  People are dying in Japan, Libya, and in plane crashes and a so-called pastor is getting press for being a hateful, Satanic idiot and Charlie Sheen is getting a standing ovation in Chicago for being a jackass and the best candidate for “The Next Celebrity to be Found Dead in a Hotel Room Of An Apparent Drug Overdose” Award.  It’s disgusting.

The weather today has been perfect for this kind of mood.  Cold, windy, gray, with a constant mist.  It was appropriate.  But now the sun is shining and it’s cramping my style.  I’m in the mood to brood.  I spend most of my life looking on the bright side of things and it’s exhausting.  Sometimes I want to sulk, put on some maudlin music or a depressing movie and have a glorious pity party.  The sunny weather is not conducive to this.  My only consolation is the distant thunder I hear, perhaps the herald of more stormy weather.

Just for today, please sun, go away.  Tomorrow, I’ll welcome you with open arms.  By then, I’ll have gotten the gloom and doom out my system and be again my positive, find humor and good in everything, self again.   The calm after the storm.

“Be still sad heart and cease repining, behind the clouds the sun is shining; thy fate is the common fate of all; into each life some rain must fall-some days must be dark and dreary.”
—      Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

7 thoughts on “Sun, Sun Go Away

  1. Most days I just want to cheer up, but I totally have the “I-want-to-be-in-a-bad-mood-let’s-find-the-saddest-possible-song-and-listen-to-it-ten-times” days. I think it’s the periodic catharsis. A reset button of sorts.

    • I agree. Fortunately, I don’t have a lot of those kinds of days. I may not be a bubbly person, but most days I’m pretty happy. Annoyed and sarcastic, yes. But happy.

      I think my mind says, “OK, it’s time to look around and see that not everyone is as blessed as you. It’s time to consider the world from someone else’s point of view now.” It’s good, as long as it’s not EVERY DAY. That wears on the body. I hope you’re having more “cheer up” days than the “wallow in it” ones.

  2. This is a great post my friend. I am in this same frame of mind a lot lately. I am discouraged and disgusted with this world. Especially when those who do not deserve it get glorified. It’s a sick place to live.

    • I understand. However, it’s important to look on the positive side, even if it’s only in the great family and friends in our own little, isolated circles. It’s hard sometimes, but absolutely necessary to preserve our sanity!

Leave a comment