My Cake Hobby

St. Honore Cake via chicagonow.comSt. Honore Cake via chicagonow.com
 I am not a pastry chef, but I am a self-taught cake decorator.  I started making my kids’ birthday cakes about 10 years ago.  In the beginning, it was cake baked in a character shaped pan and filled in with icing stars.  I’ve advanced considerably since then. I started making sculpted cakes after seeing Ace of Cakes on the Food Network.  While I will never be as impressive as Duff Goldman or his Charm City Cakes crew, I’m happy with my abilities.  There have been many mistakes and cake disasters but that’s part of learning something new. (Note:  I’ve been trying to get these pictures to display in some kind of logical order, but I’m having NO LUCK with this stupid editor, so I apologize for the chaotic arrangement and hope you enjoy the pictures regardless.)

Toolbox Cake for His and Hers Wedding ShowerBook cake for English Major

Scrabble Cake Replica of Proposal Scrabble Game

Canon Camera

Diaper Bag

Fondant Froggies

Seashells on the Beach

Flip-Flops on the Beach

Firetruck

Georgia Bulldogs with Smash Cake

Harry Potter's Firebolt

Autumn

Orange Calla Lilies on Wedding Cake

It's a Girl (Poor photo quality)

Close-up of baby (Poor quality)

Sock Monkeys Modeled After Child's Favorite Stuffed Animal

Eyelet Lace Cake Detail

Barnyard Cake based on party invitations

23 thoughts on “My Cake Hobby

    • Thanks. I learned from tutorials myself. They’re everywhere on youtube. There are also tons of cake decorating trade magazines and decorating books. It’s pretty well covered and I don’t think I could add anything.

  1. oh my gosh these are fantastic. Some of them dont even look like cakes they look so real. Thats a fine skill you got there!!

    • Please, Cecile. You are so talented it’s crazy. You make the world beautiful, one piece of furniture or one room at a time. It’s a talent that brings long-term joy to people.

  2. Your cakes are terrific!!!

    In regard to your post “I haven’t figured out how to advertise without spending any money!”

    Posting on similar blogs, facebook, mentioning it when you can (without being too OTT lol) to friends,family and others you meat often helps in getting the “word of mouth” business.

    Also putting up flyers in local Daycare centers & schools or in their newsletters can be a great source of advertising!!!

    Good luck!!

    • I’m not sure I want to do more than I’m already doing. The blog alone has generated a little business already. I think I’ll wait and see what happens. Thanks for the advice!

  3. those are some AWESOME cakes! I loveeeee watching those cake shows, like cake boss, charm city cakes, and extreme food network cake competitions. It’s so COOL to see edible art. (and to eat it haha) I wish I knew how to make cool cakes!

    • Those cake shows are what got me interested in cake decorating. Trust me, you don’t have to be artistically inclined. I can’t draw, paint, sculpt, or anything like that. My training goes back to Play Dough. Plus, there are tons of resources out there that demonstrate everything, step-by-step. It does require patience.

    • Yes, from books and magazines. Although I learned to sculpt and use fondant by watching Duff on Charm City Cakes. I love cake shows and I’m always watching for something new to try.

  4. Ryan, i just have to say that all the cake’s are out of this world. Advertise by showing the cake’s to shop’s supermarket’s to sell for you and pay them a small fee for doing it, if they say yes put 5 – 8 photo’s up on their wall.
    Did you want the photo’s going down in a straight line.

    • I’m assuming you meant Erin? 🙂 Back when I did this post, I didn’t know how to post the pics correctly with an HTML table, so I just left them where they ended up. I guess I need to go and redo it, but where to find the time?

      That’s a good idea you have there. I’ve also thought about going around to some catering companies and offering to do the desserts. They may also refer their wedding clients to me. I know what to do, it’s just getting up the gumption to do it.

      • I’m sorry Erin, so many name’s to remember.
        The catering companies are a good idea but start small and see how it goe’s first, then you build an extension and get a few people in to help you and go nation wide 🙂

        I have a code you insert between the photo’s to put them in a straight line it’s easy.

  5. Wow I love your cakes! I think my favorite in this post is the one modeled after the child’s favorite stuffed animal. Such a great idea!!

    Thank you so much for linking up and telling others to do so as well! :o)

    -Jamie

Leave a Reply

