Chin Hair and Other Fantastic Things

So I found another hair growing out my chin this week. It’s amazing, really, how those things just sprout over night. One day, you’re feeling pretty good that your diet is paying off and you only have one chin, instead of three, and the next–BAM! A long, black hair is poking out of your new-found chin. I guess it’s nature’s way of keeping you humble.

woman shaving

Despite the weight loss and not working, my back is worse than ever.  I wake up most mornings not able to walk or stand up straight without gasping and/or crying.  That means I haven’t been able to start exercising.  I want to exercise.  It will help my back and speed up this dieting drudge.  It’s the ol’ Catch-22.  I need to exercise to make my back feel better but I need my back to feel better so I can exercise.  Grrrr.

Oh and the 6yo had a stomach virus yesterday which I now have.  I’m sitting here, typing, in an effort to concentrate on anything other than the fact that I could vomit at any minute.  When I vomit, I cry, and I’m an ugly crier.  So, I’d rather not be an ugly, puking crier.  I’ll just keep my slightly green tinge, thank you very much.  *deep breaths*

Dawson Ugly Crier

“I don’t want your life!” Oh wait. That’s not right. Oh yeah. Joey left you for Pacey. Poor Dawson. No girl AND an ugly crier.

There is something that happened this week than I’m really excited about.  I discovered a wonderful blog gathering called, “Yeah Write.”  Basically, it’s 50 blogs linking up and competing for awards–peer choice, editor’s choice, and 2 lurker’s choice.  But I don’t really care about the awards.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’d love to win one.  Who doesn’t like to win awards?  Stupid people, that’s who.  And I’m not stupid.  But just reading these blogs and leaving comments and having these sweet people do the same is award enough.  Seriously, these are some awesome people.  I wish I’d found it sooner.  If you’re interested, you can read more about it here.  If you don’t want to compete, there is a hang-out where you can just read and share the blog love.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go throw up.

Related Posts:

I’m Thinking of Growing A Beard…
Wordless Wednesday:  Momfog’s Survival Kit 
Ten Things I Learned On Summer Vacation  
Scheduling Summer 

14 thoughts on “Chin Hair and Other Fantastic Things

  1. This reminded me–not sure why, sorry–of the Mayo Clinic Diet book re: exercise. If you haven’t heard of it, let me sum it up: Eat healthy, develop good habits, exercise frequently, and get plenty of rest. Oh, and in the “diet” assessment, it asks you to be honest with yourself. Maybe you’ve failed because you’re too stressed and too busy to lose it? Well, of course, any mother with a few pounds (or a load of stones) to lose is stressed and busy. Why not write, “You’re gonna fail, honey. Just set down the book and walk away. Beauty and health is for the young, stress-free, and genetically gifted, which, obviously you’re not.” I’m still looking for the stressed-out-mom-to-a-bunch-of-kids guide to dieting, but I haven’t found it. If I do, I’ll send it your way!!

    We haven’t been to the gym here, either. Sick kids, hot weather–the usual suspects. I’m sorry you caught the kid’s bug. Kid-stomach-bugs are evil. Hope you feel better soon.

    Glad you found a good blogging community! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. The chin hair is not #blinkofbliss! Hope you feel better soon, drink lots of water. Oh and stomach bug means more weight loss – there is always some small bliss in the pain 🙂

  3. oh dear! Sorry that you’re hurting AND sick. That’s no good. 😦 but I’m glad you found that other blog to give you comfort. yay for entertainment! I’ve missed reading your stuff, it’s good to be back. xo

  4. Oh yes – the old chin hair issue. The story of my life. As well as the back pain and diet pangs. LOL Some days it blows my mind how we even handle it all! Great writing, great blog – stopped by from Write on Edge group. 🙂

  5. I hope you feel better soon! I always cry during and after throwing up because it’s awful. Thanks for sharing the information about “Yeah Write.” I will have to check it out!

  6. I just discovered Yeah Write this week as well!!!

    I was telling my husband earlier today how I’ve read at least four blog posts in the past two months about chin-hairs. Must be part of aging that no one thought to mention. So just know that we are all here with you…and our tweezers.

  7. so glad you discovered yeah write. It’s amazing isn’t it? I don’t really remember when or how I found it but i can’t live w/o it now. Even on the weeks i don’t link up (of which there have been many!) I love to read the grid, find wonderful new (to me) bloggers etc.

Leave a Reply

