Camp NaNoWriMo

Some of you may have noticed a new badge in my sidebar.  The Camp NaNoWriMo participant badge.

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant Badge 2012That’s right.  I’m doing it again.  50,000 words of a novel in a month.  I figure if I managed it last November when I was working, I can certainly do it now that I’m not.  It might even be easier.  And better.  Surely it could be better because the last one sucked.

No, seriously.  It wasn’t good.  I read over it now and laugh and laugh.  It’s a great pick-me-up after a rotten day.

So I’m going to try again, using a character from the old one and anything I can salvage from it (that won’t count toward the 50,000 words because that would be cheating and I’m not a cheater.)

Or maybe I’ll write something new.  Who knows?  I’ve got time.  23 hours to figure out what in the world I’m going to write about.  No biggie.

The only reason I’m doing this is because somebody asked me to.  I didn’t even know about Camp NaNoWriMo until she opened her big mouth.  Then I opened mine and said I’d do it.  Now, we’re both committed.  Thanks, JM.  (JM writes the wildly entertaining blog, Accidental Stepmom.  She’s stepmom to 5 fabulous children, one who has a serious addiction to bacon.  Then again, who doesn’t?  You should check out her blog.  You can thank me later for introducing you.)

Just to pass on the “holy crap, what have we done?” vibe, I sort of talked my friend into participating, too.  That’s not accurate.  I let her talk herself into joining in and neglected to tell her what she was in for.  Misery loves company, and all of that.

I’m an excellent friend.

Coincidentally, she also has a blog (*gasp*  *say what?*) and she just wrote a fabulous post about what it means to be a military family.  It’s not easy (duh) but it’s even tougher when you have 4 kids, all with special needs.  She’s sort of my hero.  Yeah, she’s got her issues (don’t we all) but she does a much better job of hiding them than most people.  Go.  Read her post.  You’ll see.

Change @ Mom’s Mixed Nuts  (Isn’t that a great blog name?)

After you read these wonderful women writers, you’ll understand my panic about doing Camp NaNoWriMo with them.  They set the bar awfully high and I’m a terrible jumper.

12 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Best of luck with Camp NaNoWriMo. I had heard it mentioned months ago but didn’t think about it again until now. Part of me wants to do it, but I have so much other stuff I need to work on this month that I think I’ll take a pass this time. My NaNoWriMo one wasn’t that great either. I planned on trying to revise it to see if I could turn it into something shiny and wonderful. Then my USB drive it was on crashed and couldn’t be recovered the same weekend I was planning to back it up. I guess the powers that be really thought it shouldn’t get out into the world 😛 I normally have extra backups of things, but now I’m more diligent. I got Google Drive which I’m pretty happy with so far. Everything you put in the folder is saved there as well as in your Google account.

    • That’s handy. There’s another camp in August, if that would be better for you. Then, is it every really convenient to write 50,000 words in a month? Not in my experience. It’s a lot of fun, though. Even if the work is bad.

      • Thanks for the info. August might work better if I haven’t started grad school by then (they offer courses that start in August and October and I’m leaning toward October). Haha no I don’t know if I’d say it’s ever really convenient to write 50k words in a month. But yes it is fun either way 🙂

  2. Hey, I read some of your previous NaNo novel, and I thought there was some extremely good stuff there! No self-torture allowed in NaNo. You are a fantastic writer!
    I’ll be doing the August Camp NaNo, mostly cheating. Yep. Editing 50,000 words is the same as writing 50,000 words. Actually, it’s worse,b/c I hate editing.
    If you need somebody to cheer you on, I’m here!

    • Thank you for the encouragement. You are too nice. Know what I love about NaNoWriMos? Their tendency to bend the rules to make them fit with their plans. Everybody does that, including me. It’s fantastic.

      Yeah, I just had to go back and edit this comment. That first “their” was initially “they’re.” Further proof I have no idea what I’m doing. 🙂

  3. YAY, I’m glad you’re jumping on the bandwagon for Camp NaNo too! I wasn’t going to do a cabin this year . . . but I might have to if I could get you as one of my cabinmates :D. Whatcha think?

  4. Hey, I am doing this month camp nanowrimo in augest and this is my first camp, I am writting about a mystery / suspence , Hope people can see mine and i will be happy to edit all my mistakes in nano.

Leave a Reply

