Missing the Good Ol’ Days

I remember a time when blogging was necessary.  As in, if I didn’t post for two whole days, I had to write something, anything, immediately.  As in, I checked my stats at least three times an hour a day, desperately hoping someone left a comment or at least clicked the “like” button (seriously, how hard is it to click that button?  It takes, what, half a second?)  As in, I jotted down notes for future blog posts, started a gazillion drafts, and worked on posts for hours.

Those were the good ol’ days.

Before life got in the way.

Now, sure, I still had five kids when I started Momfog in January 2011.  But I was home.  I got them up and dressed, and put them on a school bus.  Then I had the whole day to write, write, write.  And then, the awfulness happened, and I had to get a “real” job.  Boo!  Hiss!

Now, I get up at the butt-crack of dawn, dress the kids and myself (no more driving them to the bus stop in my PJs– again, Boo!  Hiss!), drive 30 minutes to school and work, work my tail off, pick up the kids, drive the 30 minutes back home, cook dinner, get them ready for bed, do a load (or 12) of laundry, and then it’s 10:00.  I’m exhausted, brain-dead, incoherent, hurting, and not in the mood to do anything but play stupid FB games or watch television.

I don’t even look at my blog every day.  Sometimes, I don’t look at it for several days.  It doesn’t matter.  There’s nothing to see.  No posts=no comments, no “likes,” no anything.

I still piddle around in the wordpress.com forums.  I still participate in link-ups, digging deep into the archives when I actually had something to say.  Sometimes it was even entertaining.  I get a few comments and it’s great.  But I miss the “regulars.”  The people I depended on in the heyday of my little blog for comments, encouragement, and conversation.  You know who you are, and I want you to know I miss you terribly.

inbox lots of unread messagesI also miss when I could read these very special peoples’ blogs.  I don’t have time for that anymore, either.  My inbox has something like 550+ unread messages.  My inbox looks like that a lot– until I finally come to grips with the fact that I’m never going to catch  up on those unread posts and I delete them.  And it pains me to do that.

You guys deserve better.  Because you, with your lives as busy (or more so) than mine, have found the time to blog on and I’ve flaked.  I’m not going to promise I’ll do better.  I won’t.  Not any time soon, anyway.  I just want you to know that I admire your tenacity.  That I envy you.

That I miss the Good Ol’ Days.

Looking on the bright side, school (and my illustrious job as lunch lady) ends on May 18.  Then it’s 12 glorious weeks of blog writing and blog reading.  Hopefully in my PJs.  I might post something every day.  Seriously, you’ll be sick of me.  I can’t wait to get on your nerves.  Again.

19 thoughts on “Missing the Good Ol’ Days

  1. I can’t wait for summer vacation, as well – I don’t have 5 kids, but I took a full time job with an hour commute each way – I understand the “too brain-dead to write anything coherent” syndrome. I also follow more blogs than I can possibly read each day and expect to get anything accomplished.

  2. Life gets in the way of a lot of stuff we really want to do! You’ll get back to it. You are missed! Hurray for May 18th!!!

  3. You and me both, sister. I have hopes of blogging my way on everyone’s nerves after March 22. I look forward to you this summer. Because if you don’t get on my nerves, I will come down there and pinch you.

  4. Ahhhhhhhhhh – yes – the good old days. I miss them too. You know that. I deleted 200 emails recently – I had to, I knew I’d never catch up.

    Guess what? I’m back up to 200 unread emails again. I really have been trying, I really have!

    Unlike you, I have NO 18 weeks of no job coming up! I have four kids who get themselves to school (except when it rains, which isn’t often). I have a big job and staff to worry about. So I know exactly where you are, my friend. I’m right there with you!

  5. Erin, it is always lovely reading your latest, we know you are never really far away and look forward to more of the latest when summer loosens up some more of your time. You are doing a great job!

  6. I’ll think of you and your story as I check my stats in the middle of my poor husband’s 40th birthday party, and while I’m supposed to be helping with homework, and as the baby’s trying to fall asleep in my arms. When my obssession is driving me stark raving mad, I’ll try to remember to be grateful for the writing part, because that part is awfully fun. 🙂 Hang in there!

  7. Hi, Erin,
    The only rule I know here is as and when we can, in other words, no rules. Nice to see you whenever you can get on 🙂 While I did not write but merely reblogged the following post, I think you and/or some of your readers should be aware of what can occur online, I actually talked to him before, just chilled me when I read it. All I know is better safe than sorry on here.That’s why I share this now:
    http://auroramorealist.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/8010/

  8. Hey it’s good if you’ve got so much going on in your life that you’re aren’t as intimately tied to the blog. I wish I had more happening, lol.

  9. Well, momfog it must have been a feat of strength just to squeeze in energy to do this latest blog post. My hats off to any parent with several school children and blogging when they can.

    Spring is coming and your blogging Muse will arise!

  10. You guys, I’m such a bad blogger that I couldn’t manage to answer comments until more than a week later. And on a post about how I’m slacking, too! Oh well, I guess this late comment is the best illustration for how busy I really am.

    You guys are so understanding. I will be sure to blog when school is out so JM doesn’t have to come to Savannah in the summer heat wave and pinch me.

    @Hollowtree Don’t worry. You’ll settle down and get back to the good parenting soon enough. 🙂

  11. I hate when life gets in the way of my fun too, the nerve! Lol! It’s very nice to find you via Twitter and I look forward to May too so I can read more of your really fun writing!

Leave a Reply

