Never ask, “What Will Happen Next?”

The last time I wrote, we had mono, conjunctivitis, bronchitis, and sinusitis in the house.  I ended that great post with the question, “Wonder what will happen next?”

Well, I’ll tell you what happened next.

Pleurisy!

What is pleurisy?

Pleurisy is inflammation of the lining of the lungs and chest (the pleura) that leads to chest pain (usually sharp) when you take a breath or cough.  Source:  PubMed Health

pleural space--pleurisy

Image via WebMD

Who has pleurisy?

ME!

I can’t bend over, talk much (can you imagine?!) laugh, lie down, sweep, mop, carry laundry, hold the toddler, or push a cart around the grocery store without getting short of breath.  So, basically, I’m short of breath all the time.

I’m on breathing treatments, an Albuterol inhaler, oral steroids, pain meds, and my second round of antibiotics (for whatever is causing the pleurisy and the ear infection that didn’t go away with the first round.)  By the end of this round, I will have been on a strong antibiotic, that makes me nauseous, for 20 days.  I’m waiting for whatever side effects that may cause.  I’ve been told, by my friend Dawn, that I should be ingesting some probiotics.  Probiotics are found in foods such as yogurt and sauerkraut.  Blech.  I’ll take my chances.

sauerkraut

I'm not eating that.

 

As the doctor ordered, I spent the entire day in bed.  An entire day in bed!  Well, surely, that was the silver lining, right?  Um, no.  It stinks.  I did nothing but play mindless FB games and watch TV.  And have the jitters from the albuterol.  I couldn’t sleep because, even with the pain meds, it hurts to lay flat.  I can’t sleep sitting up.

My husband was nice enough to take the day off and run the kids to school and pick them up.  I was still awake at 5:45 AM.  No sleeping in.  I didn’t go to work, which always makes me feel guilty.  I did manage to put together a crock pot meal I found on Pinterest a while back.  It was terrible.  Seriously, I spit it out on my plate.

All in all, not a good day.

Tomorrow, I return to my normal schedule.  Sure, I still can’t breathe well and my chest still hurts, but I don’t think I can take another day in bed.  It’s too exhausting.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Never ask, “What Will Happen Next?”

  1. Rebekah’s suggestion on the Acidopholus is excellent…don’t even think twice about getting those capsules. They also come in a Megadopholus form. The capsules are light and easy to ingest. Please give them a try, you just do not need the nasty side-effects on top of the Pleurisy.

    Keeping good thoughts for you…still!

  2. Hey all. Thanks for the advice and get well wishes. I’m feeling much better and I did get the Acidopholus capsules. Plenty of good bacteria swimming in my system now.

Leave a Reply

