NaNoWriMo: The Last Three Days

NaNoWriMo ends in three short days.  I can’t believe how fast it’s gone.  Of course, November is a busy month.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  November is the second worst month to have NaNoWriMo. (December is the worst.)  There is, of course, the satisfying feeling of accomplishment at the end of the year.  If you win, that is.  If you don’t, well, you’ve got your first New Year’s Resolution.

I’ve got enough New Year’s Resolutions to break.  As of today, I have 47,796/50,000 words.  According to my nifty stats page over at NaNos site, I have to write 551 words a day to finish on time.  That’s not really my style.  I write huge chunks at a time.  Ideally, I’d be doing that now, instead of writing on the blog, but you know how that goes.  I’ll probably wait until November 30 and validate my novel at 11:59 PM.  I like the drama.

I say I’m going to validate my novel.  That’s not exactly accurate.  I’ll validate a healthy portion of a novel.  It won’t be finished.  In fact, most of what I validate probably won’t be in the finished novel.  This is some meandering, indulgent stuff, people.  I’m doing what Stephen King calls, “Writing with the door closed.”  (From his book, On Writing, which is excellent.  Read it.  It’ll change your whole perspective on writing.  Good stuff.)  The next few months (or longer) will be editing and rewriting, all with the door wide open.  Open to people who aren’t me, reading what I wrote.  That changes things.   And for the better.

In the meantime, I am willing to show a portion of what I wrote.  Some people think they want to read that.  Well, here it is.  My actual words from my actual novel, in no particular order.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The Last Three Days

  1. From what they say, an Intelligent person could look at that and read what it says. . . .
    let me know if one passes through here. It sure aint me !

  2. What is my son doing in your book? 😆 Great stuff!

    I gather you don’t have to submit a “finished product” just a first draft with 50,000 words?

    I write in chunks too – so we have that in common!

    • It’s copy and paste. The site only validates the word count. I guess it’s easy to cheat, but that’s not my style. My FIL said his 50,000 word story would be “I bet you can’t count to…” said A. “Yes, I can,” said B. “Prove it,” said A. “Alright. One, two, three…”

  3. I think you’re amazing for writing so many words! I don’t dare utter when my stat counter told me I’d be done. I’m just not doing so great. I think it’s awesome that after this month, you’ll have an entire 50,000 words or more to work with. Kudos to you! I like the book On Writing too. I should read it again. Congrats.
    ~FringeGirl

Leave a Reply

