Spiced Gingerbread Latte Syrup

I’m a coffee addict.  I spend an embarrassing amount of money on coffee at Starbucks or any other coffee-house I find.  So, when I find a good recipe for coffee syrup, I get a little giddy.  When I find one as spicy and wonderful as this one, I have to share it.

Whole allspice berries in a bowl

Whole Allspice Berries Image via Wikipedia

Spiced Gingerbread Latte Syrup

Ingredients:

1 cup water
1 cup sugar
1 TBSP honey

1 (6″) piece of fresh ginger root, sliced
1 cinnamon stick, broken into large pieces
8 whole cloves
1/2 tsp. whole allspice
1/2 tsp. whole peppercorns
1/2 tsp. ground nutmet

Directions:

Combine first three ingredients in a medium saucepan.

Add the spices.

Cook over medium high heat and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 25-30 minutes.  Let cool for 20 minutes.

Strain through fine mesh sieve or double layer of cheesecloth.

 I didn’t measure exactly.  I added a little extra nutmeg and allspice because I like my coffee spicy.  It is sweet, so use sparingly.  I only tried this in coffee, but it would be excellent in hot tea, as well.  An added bonus?  Your house will smell heavenly when this syrup is simmering on the stove.  Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Spiced Gingerbread Latte Syrup

  1. Cool! I’ve never heard of anyone making their own coffee syrups. Not only did it probably taste good but the house probably smelled amazing! I too spend too much money on coffee and lattes, but don’t like anything in them except milk.

    • I don’t do it often, but every once in a while I get all Suzy Homemaker. i try not to make it a habit. Raises expectations around here, you know?

      I’m a flavored coffee kind of girl. I never liked coffee until I discovered you could add flavor and make it taste like something else. Of course, now I adore the coffee flavor and find myself adding less sweetener/flavor.

  2. try using the word ” Experience” Gives it more suggestive encouragement to try something new. . . Ever watch Justified ? Daddy had me Experience “Apple Pie” brought me some home in a mason jar ~ Now that was an Experience ~ Legal Moonshine ~ and I will be trying it in my tea ~

  3. Pingback: Let’s Meet & Be Merry! « My Soul Leapt

Leave a Reply

