Halloween Confessions

http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/Confession #1:  We are not carving pumpkins this year because I don’t like the mess and can’t justify spending $30 on 5 pumpkins.  Also, I have to do most of the carving and cleaning and that is murder on the carpal tunnel.   Go ahead and say it.  I’m a terrible mom.  I’m totally okay with that.

Confession #2:  We are not handing out candy.  We have 5 children.  Does anyone expect me to take them out by myself so that my husband can sit at home and hand out candy?  Not happening.  Maybe we’ll get egged.  Whatever.  At least there won’t be pumpkins to smash.  (Note:  I did hand out candy at my church’s Trunk or Treat.  I’m not a complete ogre.)

Confession #3:  I will raid my kids’ bags when they are sleeping.  My candy of choice?  Snickers, Starburst, and Sweet Tarts.  I have a thing for candies beginning in “S.”

From The Thing (1982) Hilarious.

Confession #4: I don’t watch scary movies on Halloween because I’m honestly scared to death of them.  I can handle the really bad ones with cheesy special effects, but Paranormal Activity?  No stinkin’ way.  The Ring still gives me nightmares.  The Exorcist?  Help.  Masks, mirrors, and Gregorian chants give me the creeps.  I hide behind a pillow when I “watch” scary movies.

Sparkly vampires are more my style.  (Wait.  I think that counts as another confession. Consider that Confession #5, then.)

"Real Vampires Don't Sparkle." Um, "Real Vampires" don't exist.

Okay, now that the confessions are over, I thought it’d be fun to share some of my own “scary stories.”  Enjoy!

Happy Halloween!

The Ultimatum

I’m Thinking of Growing a Beard 

The Secret

A Scary Text

The Test

10 thoughts on “Halloween Confessions

  1. I just said on Jen’s “retrospective” I think I am one of the very few WP people NOT making a Halloween post! Not even sure how or when this USA tradition manifested itself over here. YUCK!!! 😆 I’m with you all the way, no pumpkins, no candy, NO SCARY MOVIES!!!! I hate them too.

    *Sigh* We had two rings on the doorbell – the first time EVER! Yes, we did have some candy – I stole a few small bars out of the kids “treats” stash.

    It also my late mother’s birthday. Not sure how I feel.

    • I guess Halloween isn’t a priority then. I wasn’t going to do a Halloween post either, but I thought I might as well. Especially since I have the Lucy Adams post to get ready for tomorrow. I really do love Halloween. I just did not have the time to get into the decorations and stuff this year.

  2. I’ve never carved a pumpkin or gone trick or treating in my life, and my mom was an excellent mom, so I think you’re doing just fine ;).

    You have excellent taste in candy, too. The only thing you’re missing there is Smarties 😀

    • You never went trick-or-treating? That makes me kind of sad. I had so much fun doing it as a kid. And I still get excited because my kids are excited. Smarties are pretty good.

  3. While I’m obsessed with all things Halloween, I respect your choices. With five kids I can’t imagine handing out candy – gosh, I can’t even imagine getting them in costumes and traipsing them around town! You deserve a medal just for that! I love scary movies though, especially the weird ones. My first favorite movie was Edward Scissorhands… lol. If I could design costumes for a Tim Burton movie, my life would be complete!

    So… about Confession #5… what are your thoughts on the new movie?!?! I personally can’t wait!!! They totally make me feel like I’m 17 years old again (surprisingly not a happy feeling; but I love the nostalgia fix they give me). I’m soooo sad they’re ending soon, but at least we’ll get the Hunger Games in the spring!

    • Oh girl, I have had the date marked on my calendar since the last movie came out. I have plans to go with another 30-something mom and it will not be on opening night. I’d like to be able to hear it, which is impossible with all those teenage girls squealing. I don’t squeal in public. I wait until the DVD comes out and I’m in the comfort of my own home.

      I do love Halloween. I may not be doing all the stuff I normally do this year but I still dress up. I’ll post a pic of that later in the week. 🙂

      BTW, I ADORE Edward Scissorhands, and every other Tim Burton movie, for that matter.

  4. Don’t feel bad Erin, we’re not doing the pumpkin carving or handing out candy either. The pumpkin carving is just gross & no one comes to my house for candy. So either I will take Bryanna out or Bryan will & that’ll be that.

    OBTW . . . U’re an awesome mom!! & I like vampires that sparkle too!!

    Happy Halloween! Be safe!!

  5. I confess that The Sixth Sense has scarred me for life, and I can no longer walk through any house without the lights on. I also always feel like someone is right there with me. Never before that movie. Damn you, Bruce Willis.

Leave a Reply

