Autumn Is…

Autumn is…

Image via stock.xchngThe bite in the air, the smell of pumpkin.

A time of harvest and thanksgiving.

Warm colors and changing leaves.

Blah, blah, blah.

I love fall.  It’s my favorite season.  But if I’m being honest…

Fall is…

Clothes that cover up my ever-expanding body.

The only time of the year it’s acceptable to eat your feelings as much as you want because it’s the holidays.

The end of making excuses why we can’t go to the beach or the pool and I can leave the bathing suit on the top shelf of the closet where it belongs.

The Ladies Retreat–a weekend with no men and no children and no responsibilities.  Just God and us women, feeling loved and appreciated.

Coloring my hair the perfect shade of dark chocolate with just a hint of red.

Not shaving my legs every stinking day.

Not sweating.

And that is why I really love Fall.

_________________________________________

Crisp apples, picked from the orchard, and brilliant leaves blending into the sunset along the horizon mean autumn has arrived in Michigan.

If you’re in one of the areas of the country still sweltering in summer-like temperatures, perhaps George Eliot can help bring some autumnal memories to the surface:

Delicious autumn!  My very soul is wedded to it,
and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive
autumns. ~George Eliot

For you, what does autumn evoke?

28 thoughts on “Autumn Is…

  1. Best one of all. Not having to shave your legs everyday! Is that not the absolute truth! I am heading to a ladies retreat weekend in two weeks. I absolutely cannot wait!!! Enjoy yours!

    • I love a cold house and a warm blanket. There are some nice afghans I have my eye on. I’ll have to wait a while, though. It takes Fall a while to get here down in the South.

  2. Wish I could be at the retreat with you ladies, however, it’s may daughters 40th birthday Saturday.
    I know you will enjoy the break from your normal routine and be blessed by what you take away.

  3. Autumn brings nostalgia. Beautiful and slightly sad nostalgia. My childhood and early adult years were spent in upstate New York and now we reside in southern CA. Yes. Nice weather. Especially in February, but I long for the smells, sounds and sights of the seasons. Enjoy your well deserved weekend away and this glorious brisk season! And…..I have NO excuse for not shaving my legs every day! Darn constant 75 and sunny!

    • My husband doesn’t think any temperature is a valid reason for not shaving my legs. 🙂 Down here in southeastern Georgia, it takes a while for the temperature to drop. Today is a start. 45 low and 66 for a high. Hope it lasts! (It won’t.)

  4. A perfectly wonderful rainy day, with the wind making the 50* temp much more brisk, and a fire in the fireplace ~ Nothing sweeter than the smell of locust burning in the air ~ a cup of tea courtesy of Miss Mary a gift from England, Oh yes ~ Fall and Winter ~ my favorite times of the year ~

  5. Hi there. Saw a comment on sammib45’s blog wherein you mentioned you live outside Hinesville and thought I’d pop over to your blog. I live in Savannah but have been through Hinesville a few times on the way to Ft. Stewart.

    Interesting you mention dye in fall…this is the time I dye my hair back to red which I did the other day. As to your question, I guess I would have to say memories of Ohio. I lived there most of my life and got used to changing seasons. Then I moved to FL for a few years and recently up to GA, neither of which have much of the kind of fall I remember. In a way I miss it, but most of the time I’m just glad that it’s not signaling a cold and snowy winter.

    • Oh PS just saw on your profile you’re in Richmond Hill. My husband lived there for awhile before we moved to Savannah after we got married. Small world. We still go occasionally to Molly MacPhereson’s, and I use the Ford St. post office because the one over by us is rude and slow lol.

  6. I live in the South, too…in Texas to be exact, so it still not chilly ALL the time but we have had a little cooler temps here and there. I can’t wait for the temperature to level off and stay in the 50’s and 60’s everyday as much as possible! 🙂

Leave a Reply

