October: A Month of Planning, Trying New Things, and Making Tough Decisions

I’ve been a busy little bee lately. I’m preparing for NaNoWriMo in November. I expect a crazy November, but I didn’t consider the work it would take in October to get ready for it.

As most Wrimos (don’t you love the lingo?) have suggested, I am cleaning my house thoroughly. Apparently, I won’t have time to clean in November. For the life of me, I don’t understand how cleaning my house in October is going to help. We are a family of 7. I have to do the laundry/dishes every day or we don’t have clothes or dishes for dinner. Am I supposed to stock a 30 day supply?  I don’t have the cabinet space for 150 cereal bowls, 300 plates, and 1,000 spoons and forks.

The next thing I’m prepping is The Blog. I’m planning and writing posts to schedule for November.  I’m doing some new things.

November 1, I’m hosting a stop on Lucy Adams’s blog tour for her book, Tuck Your Skirt in Your Panties and Run.  There is a giveaway and everything.  I haven’t worked out the details of that yet.  (BTW, it’s official.  I’m a mommy blogger.  I’ve been in denial for far too long.)

I’m adding a weekly feature (inspired by Accidental Stepmom’s “One and Done”.)  I’m thinking Fridays, but it might be a weekend thing, depending on what my schedule is.  The feature is “Lessons From the Lunch Lady.”  I do a lot of thinking at work and I would love to share what goes through my mind.  Sometimes, it’s quite profound.  Sometimes, it’s silly.  Sometimes, I think it’s one when it’s really the other.  I’ll leave it to you to decide.

Now, for the most important part of my October.  I have a tough decision to make.   One of those decisions that keeps me up nights.  What should I do?  Who am I?  Will I ever be able to face my family and friends again if I mess this up?

I’m talking, of course, about my Halloween costume.  After last year’s clown make-up debacle (I looked terrible, despite the wicked awesome clown costume my saint of a mother-in-law made for me,) I need something brilliant.  I’ve been a witch, a clown, a pirate (my favorite), and a hippie (too easy, I know, but give me a break.   I gave birth to my 5th child exactly 2 weeks before.)

I was thinking of a “concept” costume, but it has to be obvious.  Then again, maybe I should keep it simple and go with something classic.  If I don’t come up with something soon, I’ll have to resort to the costume I chose every year when I was in elementary school.  That’s right.  A Punk Rocker.

So, help me out.  What should I be for Halloween?  Keep in mind that it’s for a church function. If your idea is a “slutty _______,” keep it to yourself. (Seriously, what is that? I bet there’s a “slutty Minnie Mouse” costume out there.)

Told you so.

18 thoughts on “October: A Month of Planning, Trying New Things, and Making Tough Decisions

    • I’m going to have a nicer version for the feature. I might even design it myself. *Gasp* I have no computer skills whatsoever. We’ll see how that turns out.

  1. The dishwasher will be your best friend for NaNo 😀
    Might I suggest getting some breakfast foods prepared/stocked up? Waffles and pancakes freeze very well, and you can just pop them in the toaster or microwave when you’re in a rush!

  2. This sounds impossible to me and we are one less than you! Good luck! But why on earth are YOU doing dishes??? That is why we give birth – to produce washer uppers. Our Mr 13 cooked dinner tonight too! 🙂

    • You are right. Why AM I doing dishes? Or folding laundry or vacuuming? It’s time the kids start earning their keep. I’ll do the dinner, though. I really don’t think they’re ready for that. Or maybe I’m not ready for that?

  3. Good luck with NaNoWriMo. I think the idea of cleaning in October is not to feel cluttered in November, but obviously especially with kids there is still cleaning that will need to be done lol. I did it last year starting two weeks late and working 13 hour days, so I’m sure you can do it even if you have to take some time out for cleaning. Although I’m with Team Oyeniyi, let your kids do some of that lol.

    • Oh, the new chore chart goes into effect on Monday. You, being only a short distance away, may hear their screams of agony and despair at actually having to do something around here. Listen for it. 🙂

      • Haha nice. Uh-oh 😀 I’ll only be a short distance away temporarily. By the time NaNo is in full swing I’ll be in Germany. But maybe they’ll be used to it by then. Good idea starting it early lol.

Leave a Reply

