The Momfog Manifesto

Action and reaction, ebb and flow, trial and error, change – this is the rhythm of living. Out of our over-confidence, fear; out of our fear, clearer vision, fresh hope. And out of hope, progress.  ~Bruce Barton

My life has changed drastically in the last three months.  It all started with a house fire and ended with a new job.  Those two things have changed the way I look at my life.  In the beginning, I focused on the loss of “stuff” and how proud I was that I didn’t mourn the material things I’d lost. (See here.)  Then the problem of the kids’ education forced me into a job, something I’d wanted for a long time anyway.  Now that I’ve been working for a couple of weeks, I realize that my life up until this point has been a mess–A chaotic jumble of lazy parenting, lax housekeeping (at best), and appalling disorganization.

That all changes today.

There will be a schedule.  There will be a chore list.  There will be no more yelling.  I will not repeat myself.  I will not make excuses–for me or for my children.  I will not spend another Saturday cleaning house. Everyone will do their part during the week so that we can enjoy our weekend.  The children will not tell each other to “shut up” or call each other “idiots” or “morons.” Homework will be done, school clothes and backpacks will be laid out the night before, bedtime will be strictly enforced, a bedtime story will be read, and I will get some writing done every day.

This is the Momfog Manifesto.

Ducks in a row

Getting My Ducks In a Row

In keeping with my less hectic life, I’ve changed my blog theme.  I wanted less “stuff” and more focus on the posts.  The only thing I’m going to add is the blogroll, which I have to tweak a little bit first.  That’s going to be a tough job.  There are so many blogs that I adore, but I’m trying to keep it at about 10.  Please don’t get offended if you were on there previously and are not included on the newer one.  You know I still love you, right?

33 thoughts on “The Momfog Manifesto

  1. “…I realize that my life up until this point has been a mess–A chaotic jumble of lazy parenting, lax housekeeping (at best), and appalling disorganization…”

    That shudder was me, recognizing myself in your words…Add in bouts of depression and 3-4 migraines a week and that was my child-rearing years. I did pull it together (FINALLY) and cranked out a couple of decent human beings, but God it was a lot of work. You’ll do fine. Plan your work and work your plan, momfog.

  2. If the idea helps – I pinched a list on the fridge idea – I write the chores for the day on it so no-one can claim “I forgot”. Everyone does what is on the list when they get home from school.

    Which reminds me – I have to go write today’s list!

    Go Mom!

    • The list is already in the works. I’m trying to be fair with equal work for everyone, so I’ll have to think about it a little while. Even little Anna gets a job.

  3. hehe, love the manifesto! Good luck with it!

    I know what you mean about getting a routine in order, I’m still working on that one, and I don’t have kids yet! Oh well . . .

    Love the ducks!

  4. I can relate to both your list and your struggles. One thing me and hubby do other than the list is to make a second list on a bright colored paper. But on the second list we put goals for the future. As a motivator to remind ourselves why we want to change in the first place and hung it in an obvious place.

  5. Fabulous! I LOVE this. Sometimes we just need to give ourselves a kick in the pants in order to get on the right track. After your track is straight, please come kick me onto the straight and narrow path of parenting, housekeeping, writing, living, etc. I feel a little bit like a chaotic mess right now.

    I applaud you.
    ~FringeGirl

    • Hold your applause until the end, please. I’ve got a lifetime of behaviors to unlearn before I can even begin to learn new ones. It’s a long and winding road, to be sure.

      Thanks for the encouragement. When I get it figured out, I’ll pass on my secrets. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Organising Team Oyeniyi | Love versus Goliath : A Partner Visa Journey

  7. Pingback: More changes……… | Love versus Goliath : A Partner Visa Journey

    • On and off since I was about three. I should be Really good, but I’m not. No discipline, no work ethic, not enough practice. You know, the usual. I love playing, though. I’m sure I keep Beethoven on a steady roll over there in Zentralfriedhof.

      If you want the long answer, I wrote a post about it.

      Butchering Beethoven

  8. That’s excellent! I have always wanted to learn to play the piano but life has just gotten in the way I suppose. I’ve been playing drums for over 20 years now. I started at the age of 9 and I am now 33, almost 34 in a few months. I practice at least a few hours a day minimum and I also play guitar but for only the last 3 or 4 years.

    • Wow, 2 hours a day. I admire your commitment. I’m guessing you don’t have 5 kids? 🙂 I wish you luck with your playing and hope you can find the time to learn a little piano. It’s worth the time.

  9. LOL, you’re right…no children “yet”. I’ll value my time while I can! Haha. I am definitely going to take up playing piano in the near future. No two instruments go together more perfectly (in my opinion) than drums/piano. Absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

