No Heat Curls! So Easy Even I Can Do It.

In all my months of blogging, I’ve never done a hair tutorial before.  And I’m not going to start now.  What I do want to do is pass one on.  I found it through a blogger, who found it through a blogger, who found it through a blogger or maybe a YouTube video.  Either way, I’ll leave the links at the end and you can sort out the puzzle for yourselves.

This is a really cool idea and it literally takes minutes to do.  The only tools you need are a brush and a stretchy headband.  You might want to use a little product, but I didn’t and it still turned out great.  I wrapped my hair the night before and slept on it.  It wasn’t uncomfortable at all.  Seriously, no sarcasm here (for a change.)

I do have a few pictures of the process.  Normally I wouldn’t post pictures of myself, but I feel I owe you for not posting the “I look fabulous in a hair net” photos.

My hair wrapped around a stretchy headband.

The woman who originally posted this tutorial said she would wear her hair like this all day.  I would too.  If I was wearing a hat.  I even tried to use a cute headband, just to see how it would look.

Silver, sequined stars are definitely "in" for Fall.

The hairband is my 2-year-old’s. I wanted to make that clear in case you actually thought I wore that thing in public.

Easy Hair Curling Without Heat

Hot, huh?

See what I mean?  It’s not the best look.  Although, I didn’t try it with a hair net.  That would definitely up the sexy a few points.

Anyway, here’s the end result.

Get Easy Curls Without Using Heat

Bouncy Curls

Get bouncy curls without using heat

Pretty cute, if I do say so myself.

It only took me a TOTAL of 30 minutes to do my hair.  15 minutes the day before and the same the day after.  It would have taken less time, but my hair is pretty long and I had a hard time getting it out of the headband.  All the pulling kind of frizzed me a little, so I had to use a little smoothing serum.  Go lightly, though.  You don’t want to wet the curl out.

So that’s it.  My first (and last) beauty post.  I seldom have time to do anything with my hair.  It’s either straight and boring or up in a ponytail or messy bun, so I was pretty excited about this.  So excited, in fact, that I wore heels to church to go with the fancy hair.  I took them off as soon as possible and limped for the rest of the day, but it was a glamorous couple of hours, to be sure.

As promised, here are the links I used to find this fabulous trick.

The Abundant Life  By the way, this is one of the most inspirational blogs I’ve ever read.  You should seriously check out some of her posts.  Dana battles chronic illness and does so with grace, humor, and faith.  She is one awesome lady.

IROCKSOWHAT  The original video is here, which was posted by thelipstickdiaries on YouTube, a great beauty resource.  IROCKSOWHAT is a very cool blog.  She has some other cute hair ideas and a fabulous Etsy store–things you won’t ever find here.  As much as I’d love to be “that girl,” it’s just not so.  Instead, I live vicariously through other bloggers with far more taste and style than I.

God bless them.

20 thoughts on “No Heat Curls! So Easy Even I Can Do It.

  1. I am so going to be trying this! I love curls like that, but I have so much hair (it’s really not as great is it sounds, people! How many of you get neck-aches because your hair weighs a ton?), it takes me 2-3 hours to make any headway (headway, haha cough) with a curling iron.

    Thanks for posting this! Your hair looks lovely!

    • I have a lot of hair, too. Though I don’t get neck pain. If you try it and it works, let me know and maybe post some pics. I’d love to see how it turns out.

      • I am going to try it, but probably not until next week. My hair is almost waist-length, so I’m going to have to figure out what to do with the ends, I don’t think I’m going to be able to tuck them all in at the back, so we’ll see :). I will post pictures 😀

  2. You’re a star ! … no, wait ….that’s the glittery hair band LOL,
    Actually you ARE a star, you’ve found a way that *might* actually work for my fine hair, I’ll be giving this a go (but as you can see from my icon, I’m a hat girl, so no photos LOL)

    • I tried it on my daughter’s super fine hair and it did work. You should probably use some gel. I used mousse on my daughter and it didn’t hold all day. Of course, you probably won’t be outside running around on a playground or going to gym class on the day you decide to do it.

      Why no pics? NOBODY hates to see pictures of herself more than me and I put it out there for everybody. You can do it. 🙂

  3. That is really neat! I am going to definitely try this. Not sure if I will be brave enough to share pictures though. LOL. By the way, totally jealous of all you ladies with thick hair.

    • Ah, come on. You can post pics. Just be sure to make it a profile shot, focused mainly on hair. Dim lighting and take multiple shots and pick the best one. Not that I put that much thought into it or anything. 🙂
      Thick hair has its drawbacks. Simple ponytails are all bumpy and it’s hard to get the ponytail holder the right tightness.

  4. My neighbors wife still uses hair curlers. (:

    My granddaughter wants me to grow my hair long so she can curl it. She put the pretty flower in my hair that you see in my gravatar picture. lol

  5. I love curls too and it takes me FOREVER to use a curling wand. I’ll have to try this, but my problem is I have oily hair and REALLY have to wash it every day (or do the ponytail thing on day 2).

    • My hair is really oily, too. I washed it right before I did it and let it dry almost completely and it was fine the next day. You can always carry a scrunchie or barrette or something, just in case. Let me know if you try it.

  6. Woah – I’ll have to pass this version along to the girls I babysit for. They like to curl their hair by taking small wet sponges wrapped in fabric and twisting them up in strands of hair like heat curlers. They leave them in overnight but half of them disappear by morning. A headband would keep everything together!

  7. You’re right! This is a great post. I’m glad you linked it from your end-of-year wrap-up.

    Your hair tutorial is perfect for me– I’ve been trying to figure out how to do pin curls without walking around all day in pin curls. Yay! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

