The Leaning Tower of Rapunzel

Okay, so I decorate cakes.  And they’re pretty good, if I do say so myself.  See here and here. Well, sometimes I have a cake disaster.  Those sometimes are inevitably when I am making a cake for my own kids.  Last year it was a Darth Vader head. Well, it was Darth Vader’s head if it had gotten stuck in a compactor of some sort.  The proportion was all wrong, not tall enough.  My son made the best of it.  I also made a very cute giant cupcake which fell over in the car.  Total loss, although my kids and the cat did enjoy some salvageable scraps straight out of the trunk.

My daughter turned 8 this week and wanted a Tangled birthday cake.  The tower, with Rapunzel hanging out the window by her hair.  I had to object.  I could do Rapunzel in the window with the hair hanging out the window.  She reluctantly agreed.  So I stayed up all night, literally no sleep, and I worked on it. And I discovered a few things.

1.  Rice crispy treats are wonderful and should always be used when trying to defy gravity.
2.  A mixer with a dough hook is an excellent way to make marshmallow fondant.
3.  Faces and people are impossible to make freehand out of fondant.  Not for everyone, but definitely me.

Okay, so I used rice crispy treats for the base of the tower but not the top.  I used a cupcake.  Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.  I knew it was going to be a problem, so I didn’t attach it until it was time for the party.  It didn’t matter.  It leaned and eventually fell off.

The Leaning Tangled Tower of Rapunzel

In the above picture, you can see the long hair draped around the distressed castle.  Alas, that’s all you see of dear Rapunzel.  I tried desperately to make a fondant version of the damsel but every new attempt looked worse than the first.  She went from looking like an old hag to looking like Marty Feldman.


Can you imagine that with long flowing blonde hair looking out at you from a fairy tale tower? I think not.  When I told Molly there would be hair but no Rapunzel, she was less than happy.  She insisted that I could use what I came up with.  I willingly showed her my Marty Feldman Rapunzel and she said, “Well, maybe just the hair.”  Smart girl.

Of course, I now realize I could have printed out a picture and traced it on a hunk of fondant, painted it, and stuck it in the window.  But after being up all night, I was tired, disgusted with myself, and not thinking clearly.  Oh well.  I think it turned out okay and dear Molly begrudginly settled for my sub par work was happy.

Tangled Tower Cake

All in all it was a good birthday.  She had a slumber party with just the girls.  She insisted her brothers be shipped off to Nana’s because “they’re annoying and Billy tries to kiss my friends.”  Billy is 5 and cute as a button.  Honestly, don’t you want to kiss him?

Hey, girl. Wanna make out?

The next day, we had a pool party with the brothers, who did annoy the girls.   As far as I know, there was no kissing.  Molly blew out her candles and cake and ice cream were consumed.  It was a nice party and it took me a day and a half to recover.

Molly blowing out the candles on her topless tower.

Two birthdays down. Only three more to go.

25 thoughts on “The Leaning Tower of Rapunzel

  1. That cake is amazing! My daughter is currently obsessed with anything Tangled, this would be perfect for her 5th bday. Poor Rapunzel/Marty…at least you made an attempt, it still looks incredible. I had to laugh at Billy, the little romeo. Who could resist that hair? Love it!

  2. That is an awesome cake, even if Rapunzel was disfigured and the top fell off. It’s much better than anything I could do, considering icing a round cake evenly is quite the feat for me!

    • It wasn’t too bad. It took me longer to learn how to smoothly ice a cake than anything else. I have a turntable now and it makes the process a lot easier. 🙂

  3. Oh, my goodness! Your cakes are AH-Mazing!!! You’re like a really good professional cake decorator, not just “Ok, so I decorate cakes.”

    Wow. I followed the links to see some of your other cakes. I’m blown away. Wish we lived closer to each other, because I’d hire you to make my kid’s birthday cakes. I throw a few M&M’s on the icing and call it decorated. 😦

    The Tangled cake is really cool!
    -FringeGirl

    • Now I’m blushing. 😉 It’s a lot of fun and pretty easy to learn, if you’ve got the time and the patience. I learned from books and watching cake shows.

  4. You are so talented! I wish to decorate cake too but I have to learn baking first, lol! And, you are so humble I’ve seen your masterpieces and it’s really awesome especially the diaper bag cake, I thought it was real. If you were near me, I’ll force you to bake me a cake,hahaha! I love the camera cake too, and the “it’s a girl” cake is not bad except the baby was too small.. I’m smiling here! 🙂

    • I hate the baking part. If I could, I’d pay somebody to do that part. It’s so boring and it takes too long. The baby is made from a mold, so I didn’t have a choice as to size. 😉

  5. I love your birthday cake posts. Im secretly wishing you had more kids just so you can make more cool cake posts. heheh just kidding. Even without the face, that hair really looks great! Could you have stuck a bald barbie head in there and put fondant hair on it? That would have been cheating though.

    People like myself who have never come even remotely close to your skills, think the cake looks great.

    • As far as your secret wish, Shut your mouth! 🙂 A Barbie head is an excellent idea. Where were you at 3 am Saturday morning? Oh well. It’s done with, now. I’m glad you like the birthday cake posts.

  6. I love your cake! As cake decorators we are always far FAR harder on ourselves than the recipients!

    I know I can find fault with everything I make (thats the downside to being a perfectionist) however those recieving the cakes can never spot the flaws even if i point one pout they say “wha?? where?? and squint at the cake leaving me feeling silly LOL

    To be honest the slight ‘lean’ gives it a more rustic charm and could esily be seen as intended.

    The Dora cake I did recently had a ‘cake wreck’ moment, I usually carve my own cakes but my sister strictly requested a ‘character pan’ be used so I hired one, now I never have trouble getting my cakes out of MY pans but obviously the previous hiree had used hydrochloric acid to clean the pan and had stripped it completely causing the first dora to stick unpercelessly to the pan and refuse to leave.

    After re-curing and a lot of $#@&^%$’ ing, it worked like a charm LOL

    • We are our own worst critics, aren’t we? I’m a total potty mouth when I’m decorating. It’s a good thing I usually do my cakes when the kids are asleep. 🙂

  7. Your cakes are amazing. I absolutely love them! I know you are a busy mama but maybe sometime you can put together a post with pictures that explains how you put these awesome cakes together. I would love to give it a try but would have absolutely no clue where to begin. P.S. Totally digging Billy’s hairstyle!

    • I have sort of explained some of the steps in a couple of the posts. I can’t remember which ones, but if you want you can check the cake decorating category and see for yourself. There are tons of decorating books, which is how I learned.

  8. I should send you pics of things I try to decorate, and then she’d be thrilled. Because, seriously, if I made a cake that awesome, which you are calling a fail, I would carry it around with me everywhere I went and show it off and not let anybody eat it until it started to mold. That boy is a cutie-pie!

Leave a Reply

