Like Me, Tweet Me, READ ME!

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

Daily Foglifter:  Twitter users send 1 Billion tweets each week.

I’m taking the plunge and joining Twitter–something I said I’d never do.  That was before I had a blog and thought Twitter was a bunch of self-indulgent morons and celebrities who thought “I just wiped my nose” was an important enough event to share with the world.  It is that,  but it’s also a tool to attract readers.  And I want more readers.  Now, I just need to figure out how to use it

I’m hopelessly lost when it comes to the “interwebs” and other such things.  Facebook used to baffle me.  It still does in many respects.  I managed to set up a Momfog page, but now what?  What’s it good for?  Right now it’s just a bunch of links to my blog and that is boring and lazy.  It needs character.  It needs people.  I guess I’m supposed to beg everyone to like it, but I hate that.  I always feel like I’m being pushy.  Timidity is not helpful in blog promotion.  Neither is annoying the mess out of people.  There’s a happy medium, but darned if I know what it is.

So, now I have a Twitter account just sitting there, waiting for me to do something.  I sent one tweet (Is there a more annoying word?) and I did that by accident. I mean, where did it go?  Twitter purgatory?  Did it go to my one follower?  What did she think when she got a retweet from me that has nothing to do either of us?   It’s embarrassing.  I’m glad she knows I’m a clueless idiot.

I was recently informed about hash tags, which is the first thing that makes any sense to me.  I’m going to use this newly acquired knowledge and see what happens.  I plan to spend the weekend Tweeting (or is it Twittering?) my little heart out.  I have about 80 posts I could tweet.  That ought to keep me busy and ensure no one follows me.

“A word to the wise ain’t necessary – it’s the stupid ones that need the advice.”  ~Bill Cosby

20 thoughts on “Like Me, Tweet Me, READ ME!

    • I was thinking about you yesterday when I was doing a little subscription managing. Glad you’re back.

      As for following me, thanks, but there’s nothing to follow at the moment. lol! I will get it figured out this weekend. By Monday, I’ll be a pro. 😎

    • I have 3. It wouldn’t matter if I had 1000 since I don’t know what I’m supposed to do. I guess I’ll just start tweeting my posts and see what happens.

  1. welcome to the tweeting world. As my friend would say, you’re now a twit 🙂

    I never liked twitter either. I still think it’s pretty useless. But if it means more readers, so be it.

    • My mom has always used “twit” as her handle. I feel a little foolish for joining, but it’s apparently a necessary evil for bloggers. My husband read my post and said, “You joined Twitter?” He said it in a really disgusted way. I think I’ve fallen a peg or two in his estimation. I feel like such a sellout. 🙂

    • I know! It’s like sending your thoughts into the great beyond or something. I suppose somebody, somewhere is reading it. I’ll follow you, so you at least know one person who’s getting it. 🙂

    • Oh please don’t take any pointers from me. I’ve only sent one on-purpose world-at-large tweet and it hasn’t yielded anything. I suspect I’ll get the same results from Twitter as I would shouting the same thing from my rooftops out here in the country. We’ll see. 🙂

  2. Hi Erin, Have you downloaded the free progran called tweetdeck yet? It makes tweeting a tiny bit more interesting. And you can schedual tweets ahead of time. My twitter name is 4kty. Ive had it a while now Give me a follow and Ill do the same. 🙂

  3. I don’t tweet, I chirp. I think it is so much more up-market, don’t you?

    I’ll tell you what annoys the heck (word changed due to family nature of blog) out of me is these “TY” and “#FF” and “TY for the RT”. I actually stopped following a good author because I couldn’t handle 40 odd #FF tweets.

    Haven’t seen a thing from you yet (I notice you said you’d be a pro by the weekend). Then again, I don’t check Twitter that often as it drives me nuts most of the time!

    • I tweeted, er, chirped, one article. I don’t really understand where it went but I tweeted it. I’m going to try the tweetdeck thing Sara suggested.

      I have no idea what “TY” and “#FF” and “TY for the RT” means. It sounds annoying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

