Exciting Bloggy Type Things

Daily Foglifter:  Artist Sergei Maliutin made the first Russian Matryoshka Doll, or “Nesting Doll,” in the late 19th century in the town of Sergiev Posad.

I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for 4 months already!  I have published 75 posts (76 including this one) and written countless more that never saw the light of day, which is a good thing.  In fact, there are several of the published ones I wish I could take back.  But I digress.

Every single time I click the “publish” button, I’m absolutely convinced I’m wasting my time; that no one is going to read the random ramblings of my scattered brain.  Inexplicably, the hits and comments keep coming.  As of this moment, these are my stats:

  • 10,095 Hits
  • 765 Comments  (As I respond to all comments like a considerate blogger should, the actual number of comments is more like 382)

That is so exciting and I want to thank all the loyal readers who come back day after day and feed my blogging obsession and rapidly inflating ego offer their support.

Amazingly, the blogging love doesn’t stop there.  I received a very prestigious award from Emily over at Paroxysm of Outrageous Random News, aka P.O.R.N.  Emily knows a great deal about branding and effective advertising, wouldn’t you say? I wanted to make sure I explained that title before certain friends and family freaked out after seeing the title of my award.  In light of a few recent posts, I fear some may already be under the impression I’m living a secret life.

In keeping with the blogging reciprocity code, I am required to pass on this award to fellow bloggers in four predetermined categories.

  • People Person  This is for the blogger I can depend upon to read and comment on all my posts.  This is a no-brainer.  For this category, the award goes to teamoyeniyi.  She was my first non-family-or-friend comment and I believe she has commented on every post since she found me.  Her blog about breaks my heart but it looks like there are happier times on the horizon. 
  • Old Fart  This is for the blogger who has been with me the longest.  I don’t know if it’s technically allowed, but this award also has to go to teamoyeniyi.  What can I say?  I know I can always depend on her.  She’s awesome and I love her!
  • Lloyd: The Coolest Stalker Ever

    Reader’s Choice  I’ve only recently discovered this awesomely hilarious blogger but it’s no contest.  For this category I choose Don’t Make That Face.  If you like colorful and sometimes demented humor, head on over there.  You won’t be disappointed.  Shocked and blushing slightly, yes, but not disappointed.  Seriously though, she has Lloyd Dobler as her Tumblr Button.  Could there be anybody more worthy?

  • Noob  This award is for the newbie blogger who shows real promise and only needs encouragement to achieve blogging greatness.  I choose,as my Newbie with the most potential,  The Art of Variety.  This guy is wicked smart and funny.  He reviews books, shares his globe-trotting experiences, and is good for a philosophical discussion, too.  I’ve noticed he’s falling off his posting a bit and I think he needs some love and support.  Please, pay him a visit.

Whew.  That was harder than I thought it would be.  I read a lot of excellent blogs and I wish I could give them all an award.  This blogging thing is harder than it looks.  I’ve been very fortunate to find a loving and supportive group of blogging buddies and look forward to continuing the ride.

“Appreciation is a wonderful thing: It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well”  ~Voltaire

21 thoughts on “Exciting Bloggy Type Things

  1. I must admit Mom, as I slowly scrolled down this post on my blackberry, I got a twinge of excitement and anticipation when about to reveal your award for Best Noob 😦

    I shall be gracious in defeat and go right over to ‘The Art of Variety’ and read his blog.

    Sara-frasen-rat-sara-fras (Mutley – Catch The Pigeon)

    • Ah, I thought about you. Honestly. You two were neck and neck but I’ve known The Art of Variety longer.

      I know the feeling, though. I’ve had the butterflies when reading a friend’s awards, only to be snubbed in the end. Not a nice feeling, but I did eventually get my award. You will, too. 🙂

  2. Wow! I am honored to receive this award momfog, but I’m not sure that I deserve it. I’m up north right now at the cottage reading this from my Blackberry (been here since Friday and might explain my absence) and you’ve truly made my day. Thank you for considering me amongst the many many incredible blogs you come across. I will type up my response and post it as soon as I get back home. 🙂

  3. heheh I also had some minor hesitation because of the ‘word’ in the award. But I havent posted my recipientts yet. Its on my to do list. Emilys blog realy is fantastic. Im glad she picked you and @team.

  4. Congratulations again! You’re definitely a P.O.R.N. Star!!! I feel like giving you a second award for being the first to pass it on! But there’s too much homework glaring at me… so just know I’m honored that you’re honored to honor other bloggers 🙂

    • I’m honored that you’re honored that I’m honored to honor other blogs. Hopefully, others will pass it on and WordPress can become a blogging community of P.O.R.N. stars!

        • Yes! That’s now my image for the trophy that would accompany this award. Girl down on one knee and both hands straight up in the air, with P.O.RN. Star! on the plaque or plate or whatever it’s called. I hope Emily’s following, being the Paint pro here.

        • That was exactly what was going through my head too!!! I kept finding myself striking poses while drawing the award, and I finally made the connection a few days later… I’m not sure I’m so proud to have subconsciously imitated Ms. Gallagher…

  5. Thank you so much! I am sorry I am late to the party!

    I always enjoy your posts and they give me a a lift from my own. You may not realise how important that is to me. For that alone I thank you very much.

    It is a pity this weeks posts are probably not much about romance or human interest if others visit, but I promise that will be made up for soooooooonnnn.

    • Fashionably late is always best. I’m glad I can give you a little lift. If anyone needs and deserves one, it’s you. I can’t wait to read the “after” posts and I hope they come very soon. And we’ll definitely reach 100,000. There’s no doubt in my mind.

    • I know, right? I cheated and gave two of them to 1 person but she completely deserved both. Do your best. If you fear hurting someone’s feelings, give them an honorable mention. 🙂

Leave a Reply

