The Ultimatum

The Question

Four nights ago, my life changed forever.  It was hot and it had been a long day of running errands, laundering clothes, and refereeing children.  I was exhausted and he was there, as usual, to relieve the stress.  It was quiet because everyone was in bed–the children, the dog, the cat, and the husband.  It was me, him, and a cup of coffee and it should’ve been perfect.  It wasn’t.  We’d been fighting for weeks, maybe even months. I oscillated between two states of mind where he was concerned:  hatred and obsession.  I didn’t know what to do.  He did.

“You have to choose.  It’s either them…or me.”  I inhaled sharply and choked back a gasp. Surely he wasn’t serious.  I looked at him incredulously, waiting for the punchline.  His burning gaze told me it was not a joke.  The ultimatum hung in the air between us like a foul stench.

This was it.  I’d known him for 16 years and he’d finally had enough of my fickleness and selfishness.  He wanted me all to himself or not at all.  The choice was mine.

But how could I choose?  I’d known him for as long as I’d known my husband.  In fact, my husband introduced us.  It started off innocently enough.  He was cool and mysterious.  He piqued my curiosity.  He had a certain way about him, an aloofness and lack of concern that said, “I’m bad and I don’t give a crap.”  It was very appealing, especially to a 16-year-old girl.  So we started hanging out.  Secretly.  We’d go behind buildings on the school grounds and I’d brush my softly puckered lips against him in quick, timid kisses, excited and scared of being found out.

As time went on, we got reckless.  We went out in public together and didn’t care who knew about our relationship.  My parents met us on a crowded street and were shocked.  They didn’t approve of him, which only made him more appealing to me.  Eventually, we dropped all pretense and revealed our relationship to the world.  It was a rebellious and exciting time.

As our relationship developed so did the relationship between me and my future husband.  It was an easy relationship for the three of us.  Like I said, my husband introduced us in the first place.  We were all very close, like three peas in a pod.

Eventually, my future husband asked me to marry him and I agreed.  We married, and had a child within a year.  He was with us through it all.  By the time the second child came along, the relationship was beginning to suffer.  I was questioning the wisdom of having the ever intrusive, albeit necessary, third wheel constantly hanging around.  It was an unhealthy relationship, one of co-dependence and abuse.

I suggested it would be best if we parted ways.  He wouldn’t hear of it.  He pleaded with me, reminding me of all the things we’d been through together.  How he’d helped me with the stress, the boredom, the disappointments.  I relented.  But with the birth of each new child, I became more aware of the dangers he posed to our family.  He was poison, in the guise of a friend.  I tried to push him away but he always convinced me to let him stay.  I was powerless to resist him, yet never stopped trying.  Now he wanted an answer, once and for all.  What would I choose?  Him?  Or my family?

I needed help, but didn’t know where to turn.  I couldn’t go to my husband.  He had no idea how serious our relationship had become.  I’m sure he suspected something when the time we spent together during the day would extend well into the night while he was sleeping.  He had never said anything beyond, “Wasn’t he just here on Monday? It’s Thursday, why do we need him back so soon?”  I would just shrug my shoulders.  Remarkably, I got away with that.  There is none so blind as those who will not see.

I thought about my children.  They deserved better than a mom who completely disregarded what was best for them and the entire family.  They deserved a mom who wasn’t so selfish.

I thought about him.  A lot.  I knew he had to go but I couldn’t bring myself to tell him.  I got depressed, sad, and nervous.  I couldn’t sleep.  He invaded my dreams.  When sweet exhaustion would overtake me, I couldn’t stop the vision of him coming toward me, beckoning me with his heavenly scent.  Just as I reached out to him to take him into my loving embrace, I jolted awake, overcome by fear and trembling.  It had to stop.

He issued the ultimatum, and now he would suffer the consequences.  The decision was made and I had an ultimatum of my own.  If I couldn’t have him, no one would.  I waited until everyone was asleep and he had taken his usual place in the living room.  I sneaked up behind him and watched him for a moment.  He was so smug sitting there, so sure he would be my choice, and I felt nothing but contempt for him.  I grabbed him, snubbed him out, cut him into tiny pieces, and buried him in a shallow, unmarked grave.  And I never looked back.

As is the case with most psychopathic killers, I couldn’t resist taking pictures of my evil deeds.  The SOB had it coming and I think I’d like a scrapbook of his suffering.  Oh, how I still love him, though.

It's Me...or Them.

The Mutilation

Dead and Buried

Happy Friday the 13th!

This was an entry for Fiction Friday via The Domestic Fringe

50 thoughts on “The Ultimatum

  1. Oh my god, holy shit!!!!!
    I can’t believe this whole time I thought you were talking about another man! what the heck?!?! I can’t stop laughing now because that was so damn good.
    Keep on quitting. I am currently quitting drinking, hard enough, soon as my month is done [of soberness] I will turn to quitting cigarettes. Good luck to you and awesome AWESOME post.

    • I’m glad I made you laugh. Good luck with all the quitting. I can’t imagine having to quit more than one thing at a time. Thanks for the comment!

      • I don’t have stumble. Lawd have mercy, getting Twitter was bad enough (for the Aussie blog competition). I have enough accounts already and if you read Timethief’s latest, we wouldn’t have any of them!

        • I haven’t checked my subscriptions yet. I’m doing a cake and it’s probably going to be another all nighter. I’ll have to check out TT’s latest tomorrow.

  2. Very very well written!!!!! Just loved it! I seriously hope you don’t go back to him, knowing the pull he has over you.

  3. I love this! I am going to share on Facebook as well. My best friend quit smoking about a month ago and I know she will get a kick out of this as much as I did!

  4. I had a feeling that’s what you were talking about (but I was on the edge of my seat the whole time…) Momfog, I quit almost exactly one year ago (after about 30 years). Now, whenever I get the urge to cheat, I just think to myself….NO WAY I WANT TO GO THROUGH THAT AGAIN! And let the urge pass, it always does…..Our families are also very grateful – Don’t ever have even one! (Listen to music instead)……Congratulations!

    • Apparently, he’s immortal because that jerk is already whispering in my ear, trying desperately to make me take him back, no strings attached this time. Argh. :/

  5. Excellent, excellent, excellent! Good for you!!!! Never been a smoker myself but have had several older generation family members die from lung cancer. A terrible habit. I wish you the best, you can always look to us for support along the way.

    • I appreciate it. Believe me, I’m going to need the support. I only hope I don’t alienate anyone with the bi-polar, schizophrenic ravings that are sure to come in the next little while. I can be really unpleasant when I want to be. 🙂

  6. Going on 7 years since I quit, oddly enough on an ultimatum. My then girlfriend’s father had a heart attack, and she told me that I had to quit that day or she wouldn’t marry me. So, my now father-in-law and I quit cold turkey on the same day. It sounds so easy but it wasn’t…and isn’t. He still begs to come back into my life sometimes, and it doesn’t help that he still hangs around with a lot of my friends. You can do it, though.

    • Thanks, Ryan. I don’t think an ultimatum will work for me. My husband has tried that and all it does is tick me off and make me want to smoke just for spite. I’m a pretty level-headed person, but I get overly “sensitive” when I feel like somebody’s telling me what to do. By “somebody” I mean my husband. Of course, he can’t threaten not to marry me. That ship has certainly sailed, leaving 5 children in its wake. 🙂

      Congratulations on quitting and sticking with it.

  7. I loved this story! Took me a while to figure out what you were talking about . I smoked when I was 16 – 17 and living in another country. Fortunately for me, when I moved back to the States, the abrupt change of all scenery (including fellow smokers) and habits that clicked the desire, aided me in just stopping, fortunately mostly completely and now forever. I wish you luck on your journey with it. As others have said, we are here to help you out. EFT tapping may assist you in moving through future urges. My fave sites for it are: http://www.thetappingsolution.com, http://www.eftdownunder.com (check out their SET tapping on just the fingertips), and Brad Yates, the EFT Wizard. He’s on youtube and has a site. All the best to you!

  8. Kudos to you – both for your amazing act AND your fantastic telling of the tale! I truly believed you were having some illicit affair, but I guess, in many ways, you were.

  9. Wow! Fantastic telling of an actual event! Hang in there. I quit 8 years ago this month. I wasn’t as strong as you to go cold turkey. I needed meds from a Dr. But then again, I had tried to quit MANY times so I had a good idea that I was a stubborn case and would need to try something different. I’m so glad I did! You will be too, after more time has passed.

    God bless you!

  10. I’m getting to this late, and it’s very good! I wonder now – did you stop for good, or is the old sweet-talker back in your life again? I gave up twice, the last time for good, but I have no moralistic attitude about cigarettes or smoking.

    • Sorry to say, the sweet talker has me in his clutches again. After the house fire, quitting smoking was not an option. Stress! Unfortunately, the stress hasn’t let up. I will try again. I hear it takes the average smoker 5 attempts to quit for good. I’ve only tried twice. Who knows? Maybe I’ll be above average and quit for good the next time.

      I’m glad you don’t have a moralistic attitude about it. Those people really get on my nerves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

