The LEGO Head Cake Debacle

Cake Iced in Fondant

Daily Foglifter: Rolled fondant or fondant icing is commonly used to decorate wedding cakes. Rolled fondant is rolled out like a pie crust and used to cover the cake.

Remember on Friday when I said the cake I was making for my son would be “super-duper” easy?  Yeah, well, it wasn’t.  It should’ve been.  IF it wasn’t 87 degrees in my house and the air wasn’t dripping with humidity.  These things are not good for fondant, particularly marshmallow fondant.  They’re even worse for my patience and dedication, both of which are required to make fondant do what it’s supposed to do.  Of course, I worked it out.  But the effect was less than what I had hoped.  My son was fine with it, and I guess that’s all that matters.  I took a few pictures to show the process, since some were wondering how it’s done.

Step One:  Bake, Level, Ice, and Stack Cakes

Stacked and Beginning to Ice the Cake

I hate this step.  It’s boring and time-consuming.  If I ever have a cake business, I’m hiring someone to do this part.  This one is crooked and I cheated.  The icing is straight out of a can, though it is Wilton brand, which is NOT your basic Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker.  It’s made for decorating and tastes like buttercream icing instead of…whatever that other stuff tastes like.

Stacked and Iced Cake

Step Two:  Making Marshmallow Fondant Icing

Marshmallows and Water

Melted Marshmallows and Yellow Icing Color

Empty a 16 oz. bag of marshmallows and 2 tbsp. of water into a bowl and nuke it in the microwave. At 30 second intervals, give it a stir until it’s melted. At this point you can add icing color if the fondant will be all one color. It’s far easier to stir it in than knead it in later. Then you add a 2 lb. bag of powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time, and mix and knead until it turns into a soft dough. This is murder on the carpal tunnel.
.
.
.
.

Powdered Sugar

At this point, if I had made my own icing, there would be 4 lbs. of powdered sugar in the icing alone for this little cake.  Add in the marshmallows and the sugar in the cake mix, and you may become diabetic just thinking about it.

Kneading in the Powdered Sugar

.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Step Three:  Rolling Out the Fondant, Picking It Up, and Draping It Over the Cake

Rolling Out the Icing

This is where things went horribly wrong. The sweltering heat and humidity made the stuff sticky. I had to roll it five times because every time I picked it up, it stuck, or ripped, or bubbled. Powdered sugar was everywhere. My kitchen looked like a cocaine factory.  I couldn’t take pictures because it takes two hands and arms to pick up the fondant. By the time I got the fondant on the cake and started making the little thingie on the top, I was too ticked off and hot to care about some stupid pictures.
.
.
.

Step Four:  The Finished Project

LEGO Mini-Figure Head Cake

Voila!  A LEGO mini-figure head!  The facial features were done by my son.

If you look closely, you can see the bubbles, the rips, and the parts around the bottom that didn’t quite get covered.  I couldn’t trim the dern stuff.  It wanted to stick together.  The top part is sloppy, no sharp edges because the fondant refused to be cut cleanly.  It was not my best effort, but my son was thrilled, especially when we put the candles on his head and lit them on fire.  It looked like flaming hair.  Very nice.

Blowing Out the Flaming Hair

.

Warning: The following pictures may be too intense and/or disturbing for some audiences.

.

Step Five:  Slice Him Up and Chow Down

Put him out of his misery

.
..

Fudge Marble for Brains

.
“I wanted to buy a candle holder, but the store didn’t have one. So I got a cake.” ~Mitch Hedberg
14 thoughts on “The LEGO Head Cake Debacle

  1. Thats amazing. You say you did bad because of the heat and stuff? Really I cant see anything bad at all. Your ‘bad’ skills far surpass most of us. If only sugar wasnt so sugary.

    • Photos are kind AND I didn’t show the back view. There were some little holes. Usually, I just stick a flower or some other embellishment over the mistakes, but that wouldn’t work for this one. I’ve never figured out the number of calories for a cake like this, but it’s a SCARY number, I’m sure. 🙂

    • I’ve never had a dog attack, but one of the babies climbed on the table and ate the top off Noah’s Ark. It was for a baby shower–the paying kind. I had to do some creative repairs on that one, for sure!

      BTW, Kenzo reminds me of my youngest son whe he was that age. He’s around 3? I think it’s the hair that is never quite laying (lying?) down and the mischievous smile. You have very beautiful grandchildren!

  2. As I sit here looking at this, I feel decidedly inadequate in the cake-making department. 😦 😆

    Please, please, do not spoil the enjoyment with talk of calories – anyway, don’t you know they all fell out once you cut the cake?

    • It’s hard not to think about the sugar since it is literally everywhere by the time I’m done with a cake. Everything is covered in a fine dusting of white–the floor, the counters, my arms, my clothes, sometimes my hair. Powdered sugar leaves a cloud. Clean-up is a chore, requiring multiple moppings and wipings. I hate it almost as much as I hate the baking and making of the icing.

  3. Mom,

    Humidity…

    It drives me absolutely round the bend here in Australia in summer, I did a cake for one of my best friends (the green one with roses on my blog) I think I rolled out that fondant a dozen times, I was hot, frustrated, and getting cranky rofl, bubbles , tears, rips and a lot of colorful language went into that cake!

    Thank God the weather is cooler here now.

    I can also relate to the ‘cocaine factory effect’ with the sugar LOL

    I end up covered in it!!! and it is an absolute B**** to clean up arghhh.

    • Frustrating! My language can get colorful, too. On top of that, while I’m decorating, my 18-month-old is making all manner of mess. I can imagine what an unexpected visitor would think. Bad language, dirty baby, dirty house, white stuff everywhere…. Not a pretty sight!

  4. Your story is hilarious… I’m planning to make this cake for my son this weekend – google brought me to your site, where I’d hoped to get some good tips. I’m thinking I’ll be sure the AC is on:-)

  5. A/C is a must. Oh, and patience and strong arms–neither of which do I possess. I think I picked the wrong hobby. Good luck with the cake and so glad Google led you here. Take a look around. There are better cakes to look at. 🙂

Leave a Reply

