Bye Bye, Birthday Ballyhoo

Daily Foglifter:  April 9 is the 99th day on the Gregorian Calendar.

Tomorrow is my oldest son’s 12th Birthday.  How in the world is that possible?  I mean, he was just born and now he’s almost a teenager.  I was a teenager yesterday  (plus 14 years and 9 days.)  It’s crazy.

Aside from the fact that he makes me feel REALLY old, there are positives to having an older child.

No more themed birthday parties with goodie bags, pinatas, and matching paper plates, napkins, cups, hats, favors, etc.  Seriously, what a racket.

I don’t have to invite every single kid in his class to avoid hurt feelings.  Who wants 20+ kids in their home?

http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/

Party games are lame.  With the Wii, Nintendo DS, and PS3, who needs Pin the Tail on the Donkey?

http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/

He still wants the cake made by mom and he’s PROUD of it.  It’s the one day in the year when his mom is quasi-cool, in that dorky-embarrassing-mom-kind-of-way.

Harry Potter's Firebolt

This year, the order is for a LEGO mini-figure head cake, pizza, and a campout in the backyard.

Is this kid great, or what?

  1. The cake is unique and super-duper easy to make.
  2. I don’t have to cook.
  3. The kids will be OUTSIDE.  No commotion inside the house.

It’s almost like it’s MY birthday….

“Even as kids reach adolescence, they need more than ever for us to watch over them. Adolescence is not about letting go. It’s about hanging on during a very bumpy ride.”

~Ron Taffel

17 thoughts on “Bye Bye, Birthday Ballyhoo

  1. I wouldnt mind having a themed birthday party like you describe and Im far from 12. But then Im old enough to reminice about the joys of simpler times of youth.

    • I enjoy a theme, but it gets expensive and my kids always seemed to pick themes not readily available. They are a lot of work, too. With 5 kids, I’m getting tired, or lazy, depending on how you look at it.

      My favorite theme party we had was Harry Potter. Homemade invitations on distressed parchment paper, Hogwart’s birthday room, magic rockets made with film cannisters and Alka Seltzer, “Quidditch” relays, pop rocks in soda “potion.” That was fun.

      Honestly, if I got paid to do them for other people I’d be thrilled. With the cakes and themes, it might be a successful business. If the economy wasn’t so bad.

  2. I am really enjoying that HP cake there . . . I might have to have me one of them when the 2nd half of the last movie comes out! : )

  3. Geez. New theme. I wandered if I was on the right site. How did u get the large, colourful font? Really liked it! Is it a feature of the theme? What I hate most about themed parties, is when the kids are little still and keep changing their minds about what their favourite character is at the mo. I love that your mom makes the cake. That will really be a special memory in the years to come. I think I’ll have a Johnny Depp themed party – you’d have to admit it would be more colourful than a Brad Pitty theme.

    • I like this new theme a lot. I hope nobody clicks on through when they don’t recognize it. BTW, I used headings in the text editor to get the colorful font.

      Actually, I make the cakes. Maybe I should add “his” before mom for clarity?

      Yes, Johnny Depp would be a far more interesting (and other pleasant adjectives) theme than Brad Pitt.

  4. Just found your blog thru wordpress. I love it! Cute cakes and cute kids 🙂 I don’t think there are too many mom blogs; we only have to read the good ones–like yours!

    • Thanks! Your blog is great! Some of the best conversations in our house happen around the dinner table. I’ll have to come back and get some recipes, as we’ve gotten into an 8-meal rotation and it SUCKS! Thanks for stopping by and come back soon!

    • There’s not much to tell, but I did post a little update. This theme has a nifty little update feature located underneath the Featured Posts section. I’m not sure what exactly to use it for, but since I didn’t have too much to say about the party but needed to keep my loyal readers abreast of the latest news (haha), this seemed like a good time to use it. Do you agree?

    • Well, thank you. I visited your blog and it’s very nice. While not exactly a teetotaler, I’m not much of a drinker. Oddly enough, my favorite “adult beverage” is Jack and Coke, so I guess it’s a good thing I don’t partake very often. 🙂

      My husband’s aunt and uncle are co-owners of The Grassy Creek Vineyard and Winery in Elkin, North Carolina. It’s a lovely place. If you’re interested here’s a link
      http://www.grassycreekvineyard.com/

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

