Oh Canada!

After just over 2 months of back-breaking, emotionally draining writing and shameless self-promotion, I’ve reached the 3000 mark.

Thank You!

Daily Foglifter:  Canada is a major producer and consumer of cheese. In 1997, Canadians produced 350,000 tons of at least 32 varieties of cheese and ate an average of 23.4 pounds per person, with cheddar being the most popular.

First, I want to point out the translate feature in the sidebar.  You click on that link and this blog can be translated into any of the languages listed.  Go ahead.  Try it.  I spent a good 10 or 15 minutes translating just so I could see what different languages looked like.  Yeah, I have no life.

Also, just for funsies, I went to alexa.com to see where Momfog was ranking.  Worldwide, I am the ranked

7,544,520!

That’s right.  There are only 7, 544, 519 people who are more interesting than me in the wide, wide world of blogging.  Jealous?

On a much more encouraging note, I am considerably more endearing in Canada.  Momfog is ranked

103,763!

What’s that all aboot, eh?  (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)  I suspect Canadians can sense the mutual love of cheese that exudes from my very being.  Seriously, isn’t cheese the greatest thing EVER?  (Note: For all I know, there may only be 103,763 blogs being read in Canada.  But, compared to 7,544,520, it looks WAY more impressive.)

Despite my overall good will for Canada right now, I am not going to talk about hockey or curling.  This weekend it was all about basketball and T-ball.  Friday night saw my beloved University of Kentucky Wildcats advancing to the Elite 8 over the number one seed, the Ohio State Buckeyes in the NCAA Tournament.  It was awesome.

Saturday, my son had his first T-ball game of the season and, despite the sand gants, it was great.  There isn’t anything cuter than a bunch of five year-olds simultaneously converging on a hit ball or dramatically sliding into home.  The added bonus was Billy hitting last.  When hitting last, players run around all the bases so every hit is a homerun.  It’s a coveted position in the line-up.  Then, my saint of a mother-in-law (her official name on Momfog) took us to Jumping Jacks, an arcade and indoor bouncy house mecca and then to the Hardee’s for dinner.  The kids were occupied and fight-free AND I didn’t even have to cook.

Then Sunday there was more NCAA basketball and my Cats win over the much-despised North Carolina Tar Heels to make an appearance in the Final Four.  My considerate hubby picked up dinner and I didn’t have to cook.  AGAIN!  The kids went to bed and we watched a really good movie together.

Life is sweet.

You know you’re from Canada if…

  • You think sexy lingerie is tube-socks and a flannel nightie with only 8 buttons
  • The trunk of your car doubles as a deep freeze
  • You only know three spices:  Salt, Pepper, and Ketchup

Last Friday, I started a little project.  I’m taking an unscientific survey about the music preferences of those who visit this site, be it regular readers or search engine misdirects.  I need the information for a future post.  It’s only 3 quick and easy questions.  If you don’t mind helping me out, click here.  Thanks so much!

9 thoughts on “Oh Canada!

  1. Very annoying, as alexa.com can’t give me any Australian data. Plus they think 100% of my visitors got to me searching for “asrc knickers”. No other search terms recorded. The ASRC is Asylum Seeker Resource Centre and the knickers had to do with how many Australia gave to the women in detention! It was months ago! LOL

      • Thanks! You don’t think I alienated any Canadians, do you? Apparently, they’re my bread and butter and I would hate to lose them. It’s kind of funny, though. On my map, there are only a couple of pins in Canada. It must be a shared computer in an insane asylum or prison or something. Which is great, because that is exactly the audience I’m looking to attract!

        The music post is great. I’m thrilled with the number of comments but now I’m greedy and want more.

        I spent last night checking on the blog directories and joining a few more. I’m not sure they’re very effective or accurate but I read on some random blogging blog (!) that these were “key” blog directories to join, and I am in the habit of believing everything I read on blogs. 🙂

        Thanks for the support. I really, really appreciate it!

    • I see why you like it. Very detailed. Turns out a bunch of white, affluent women grads and post-grads with no children are my primary readers. Didn’t see that one coming….

      Do you use this on your blogs? If so, do you insert the HTML tag on every post or do you use a widget or something? It suggested the footer, but my theme has no footer. Also, the HTML tag in a widget looks like HTML in the sidebar. Help. My technological incompetence is showing. Again.

    • Disregard that last stupid question. Obviously, since I have data appearing on Quantcast, my blog is already being logged by them. I’m assuming this is a feature of all wordpress.com blogs? My common sense went right out the widow on that one! Have a good day, or night!

  2. Congrats on the milestone!!!! And may U receive many, many more!!! Keep up the good work!!!

    OBTW . . . I must have some Canadian in me . . . my favorite spices are salt, pepper & ketchup!! LOL

Leave a Reply

