Please Stop Saying That!

There are some words that make my skin crawl. Some words are innately awful.  Some become awful because they are overused.  The worst are those that aren’t words at all, but a clever little variation of a word, designed to express disdain for what the original word means.  Confused?  I’ll explain it better in a minute.

Here’s a list of some of my least favorite words:

  • Blog  Although I write one, I don’t like to say the word.  There’s a certain connotation I’m not comfortable with.  The Urban Dictionary describes it best:  A meandering, blatantly uninteresting online diary that gives the author the illusion that people are interested in their stupid, pathetic life. Consists of such riveting entries as “homework sucks” and “I slept until noon today.”
  • Panties  This word is just creepy, particularly if referring to a grown woman’s undergarments.  It sounds dirty coming out of an adult’s mouth, especially a man’s.
  • Journey, or even worse, Amazing Journey  A staple in a Reality Show Contestant’s farewell montage after they’ve been rejected and sent packing.  The word journey implies a certain degree of importance, and there’s nothing important or amazing about sharing a man with a harem of vacuous women, desperately hoping he will allow you to be his bimbo, er, bride.
  • Empower, empowered, empowerment  This is a good word that has been blown completely out of proportion.  When I see or hear this word, especially when used in conjunction with the word “women,” I want to throw up.  It practically screams, “Women are helpless little victims in constant need of outside validation to prove their own self worth!”  I’ve heard this word in cosmetics and hair-dye ads.  The absolute worst use of this word came from Jennifer Love Hewitt when describing her movie “The Client List.”  Apparently, it’s “empowering” for a woman to prostitute herself to save her family from financial difficulties. 
  • Democrap, Democretin, Republiclown, etc.  This is what I was trying to describe in the opening.  I HATE it when people use these words.  I immediately tune out.  It’s not cool.  It’s not clever.  It’s irritating and makes you sound like an idiot.
  • Discharge  No explanation necessary.
  • Sammich See Things Moms Say 

These are just a few off the top of my head.  Believe me, there are tons more.

What about you?  What words, when you here them, make you cringe or want to scream?

48 thoughts on “Please Stop Saying That!

  1. let me think about it while I fix me a sammich and listen to yet another Democrap tell me how they are going to empower me with the tools to make a change in my journey to a better Global Union ~ so don’t get your panties in a bunch while this wrongfully accused As being a Republican’t takes the time to REFLECT ON this amazing journey through YOUr THOUGHT PROVOKING BOLG ~
    wHAT DID I LEAVE OUT?

    • You left out discharge. But it’s okay. Please don’t try to work it in. Lol! BTW, Republican’t is a good one. I wish I would’ve thought of it for the sake of being fair and balanced (another asinine phrase. There ain’t no such thing.)

      • I Drive your dad crazy yelling at the radio the TV what ever when I hear any of those wonderful words, Especially Oprah’s FAVORITE . . . Empower
        I have switched the Channel on more shows than I care to count and usually always WOMEN like the VIEEEeeeewww ~

  2. i cant STAND the word panties! Paul makes fun of me for it….he has Nicole saying it to annoy me…lol aaarrrggg!!

  3. I’m with you on the “blog” word particularly. Like you, yes I wrote one, but don’t like using the word. Weird, huh? I don’t even like the word “post”, I prefer to use “entry”. “Chapter” doesn’t fit, so I can’t think of a better one.

    Some of your other words are specifically American (I am guessing) so not words I would hear very much! Other than discharge and panties, of course – they are pretty universal in the English speaking world!

    • I don’t like “post”, either, but it’s hard to come up with another word. If you’re unfamiliar with some of these words, you’ll be absolutely flummoxed next week. I’m going to write about language in the Southern United States, which is even more peculiar. I hope you take a look. I’d love to know what you think!
      I wanted to tell you that you and your family are in my prayers. I cannot imagine how difficult it must be for you.

      • Thank you for you kind thoughts.

        Somthing else you might like to tackle is the darn business speak we have these days! THAT drives me mad! “Moving forward” (I always thought that was putting one foot in front of the other), “We need clarity” (yes, I like diamonds too), “commodification” (love that one).

        I love this guys take on it all! http://www.johnsmurf.com/jargon.htm

        • I have been a stay-at-home-mom for 10 years so I wasn’t aware of business speak. That’s a funny site. Seems like the process is to take a real word and add -ize on the end to make it extra impressive. The worst one, though, is definitely “instantiate.” Or maybe using “bandwidth” to describe a person’s capability.

    • Oh dear, I would really annoy you because I use “awesome” and “whatever” all the time. I don’t think I’ve ever said “It is what it is,” though.

      • “It is what it is” comes into use when the kids are older, and all your free time is spent in book clubs, It’s zen for dummies.

        On the page, you aren’t the least bit annoying. I loved the choice of topic.

      • Definitely hate “whatever” – more because of the tone that is usually used! Have been known to use “it is what it is” though – although rarely. Not even sure where I got it from – work, I think! Zen for dummies is a good description!

        • When I use “whatever” it’s usually say it “what-EV-er” with my best dumb blonde voice and I’m intending to be annoying. Sorry to any blondes out there, but I thought “Valley Girl” might not translate.

  4. Moist. Juicy. Fluid. Anything having to do with liquid (including liquid).

    Buoy. You can’t say it without sounding dumb.

    Shortening words, specifically clothing. Tee. Tank. Cami. Calling pants “a pant.”

    • I was going to include fluid (esp. “fluid drained from the knee”) but settled on discharge. I hate when celebrity couples names are combined or a celebrity’s name is shortened (Brangelina, RPatz, TomKat, Bennifer, etc). Can you imagine how annoying that would be to hear yourself referred to in that way? Ugh.

      • I’m trying to figure out what we would be. LOL. JoRob? Has a certain ring to it I suppose…. Rohn – isn’t that already a real name? Joyn – just looks silly.

        I think we might be safe! Then again, that only happens to red carpet types and I don’t think we are at risk of that any time soon.

        Valley Girl does translate even to here – after we are reminded! LOL

        • The obvious would be “Chin”, but that would be terrible. “Cher” would just be confused with, well, the real Cher. Actually, Erris would be OK – that almost has a ring of an ancient God or Godess to it.

          • Jandrew. It’s not much, but it does sometimes actually come out of my mother’s mouth when she changes her mind on who she’s calling. That and Jabby, and A-jamie.

          • Jandrew is nice. It doesn’t have that awkwardness like “Robsten” or “Reyhansson.” I’ve been “researching” these things and I think I’m going to stop now. I feel like an idiot for knowing some of these.

  5. Oh and when someone says the reason is because. It’s either, “The reason is…” or it’s “This happened because…”. Not both. It’s redundant.

  6. hi momfog, I visited this post the other day but thought I would return and comment this time.

    I dislike ‘blog’ it sounds so boggy like,.. yuck

    I HATE when the ones I love say, can’t ,don’t, or ‘I don’t know’. Because it means they are thinking in a negative way.
    @twit made me laugh.

  7. Ow…wow How could they describe blog to be like that 😦 The one who creates the dictionary is trully a shallow person.

    What I can not stand is the word ‘gay’
    I once wrote how I love Cillian Murphy and then this guy said ‘gay’ to me eventhough I am a woman which is perfectly normal to like Cillian.

  8. thought of another lol…though its not really a word but its used quite often – Tumped. it tumped over. LOL it tipped or maybe dumped, but it certainly didnt “tump over” lol…that, and used to could…haha

    • I think I say “tumped.” It sounds familiar. I’ll have to pay more attention to myself. I like Staul. My friend from Australia came up with “Chin” for me and Chris. Isn’t that fabulous? I was having no luck. Chin and Staul need to get together some time. I hate living so far away!

      • yea, don’t tell anyone but i’ve definitely said tumped lol…and YES STaul & company need to visit Savannah asap!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Oops! I don’t know how I missed your feedback. I’ve just seen it. Thank you so very, very much for looking at my blog & for the valuable feedback and affirmation.

      I’m in two minds about the widgets on your blog. So, here’s what I think & you can decide. When I first got to the site, I thought it was very busy & a little off-putting because I didn’t know where to look + if I didn’t get here from the forum, I might have immediately ‘clicked’ away. But now that I’ve become familar with it – I find the widgets very informative and useful. I think they keep me on yr site for longer. I love the ‘Where in the World” widget. So, there. Hey, I didn’t say it would be helpful.

      NB: I would love to post photos on the blog. But I made a deal with my brother that I wouldn’t post pics of my niece and likewise, myself – so you know it wasn’t obvious who she is. He is a little paranoid about the wrong type of people seeing her on the Net and I’m not sure that he’s wrong.

      I am seriously thinking about the Jane Austen post.

      • I agree it’s busy. I just ditched the tag cloud, changed the categories list to a drop-down, and also got rid of the archives. Who searches by month anyway? I also switched some things around. I arranged it how I tend to look at 3-column blogs, which is center first and then, if I’m interested in what I’m reading, I look at the sidebars for more “stuff.”

        I understand about the picture issue. My hubby isn’t too thrilled about mine either. I figure there are easier opportunities for a pervert than finding my blog and tracking my family down, but I still understand the fear.

        Thanks for the B-day wishes and I’ll be looking for that Jane Austen post. Maybe I’ll do one sometime in the future, too. We could compare posts!

        • It looks a lot more accessible. I like the idea of a tag ‘cloud’ but removing it does make it look so much less busy + more symmetrical.

          NB: One of the difficulties of being an aunt is always remembering to not cross the line and to differ to the parents.

          Jane Austen – Oh, the pressure! I could just swoon!

          • The symmetry thing is still kind of “off.” I like what I have, just need to work on the arrangement. Thanks for the feedback! (again)

  9. Hah. I’ve always disliked these words too. But I never thought about it until I saw it on paper (well, on blog). NB: the word blog not only sounds yucky, it sounds trivial – I scrapbook sounds better. In South Africa, ’empowerment’ refers to job opportunities for black people – 10 years later, people (including many black people) use it as a degoratory term- ‘You know those BEE types’ E for empowerment (complex social reasons, of course) but still annoying. Also, don’t like puke – makes we want to when I hear it.

    • That’s why I only use the word “puke” when I’m truly disgusted with something It says it all. “Empowerment” is not a bad word or a bad thing, but it’s applied too liberally and too often to practices or attitudes that are anything but empowering. BTW, your name is my second favorite Jane Austen character. Elizabeth Bennett is the first, of course.

      • Hah! I can’t believe you got it, I loved Marianne when I was younger. Used to fancy passion, angst and tempestous outbursts. But you know – have learnt to evolve into Elinor. Less stressful. Love Elizabeth, The Heroine but too gorgeous, graceful, elegant, quick-witted for me to relate to – and bloody Kiera Knightley keeps popping into my head.

        • Darn Kiera Knightly. 🙂 I used to relate to Marianne, too. But being a mom has made me realize how hard it is to keep a level head even when you’re whole being is screaming for a little love and a lot of drama. I have deep respect for Elinor’s ability to feel just as deeply as everyone else but keep it to herself and act like she’s got some sense.

          • So, I’m now admitting on a public forum that Jane Austen is my “comfort food” but anyway…I’m so enamoured with Jane, that I write another blog called Letters to My Niece on Discovering… It was inspired by Letters to Alice on First Reading Jane Austen (Fay Weldon). Its also to her niece. Good read. Anyway, its my ‘mommy’ blog. Not as sophisticated as your blog but if you can, have a look. I didn’t do the Jane Austen post yet- if u have any ideas???????? manukti.wordpress.com.

          • I read a lot of Letters to My Niece on Discovering… and I really like it. I especially love the ones that give her advice on the struggles she’s likely to face (weight, anger, violence, criticism). Your advice is direct, but tempered by the great deal of affection you obviously feel for her.

            The blog looks great. Simple without a lot of fuss to distract the reader. I’m wondering if I have too much going on in my blog. Do you think there’s too many widgets? I had absolutely no experience with web pages or blogs until I started this thing, and I get excited when I figure out what a widget does so I add it. Until yesterday, I didn’t realize I had 2 search fields on the page. I also like the funny cartoons on your blog. I would like to see more personal pics, though. I like being able to picture who’s talking to me.

            I would love to read a Jane Austen post! Don’t worry about admitting how much you love her because I don’t know very many women who don’t. I imagine there’d be a lot of interest in such a post.

            I have read The Time Traveler’s Wife and, honestly, I was disappointed. It was probably because I saw the movie first, which is NOT a good idea. I liked the story in the book better. There were important details that weren’t in the movie and the ending was completely different. Sadder, but better. What disappointed me most about the book was the unnecessary sex and language. I’m not a prude, but I don’t think it’s necessary to be so graphic or crude with the details. It cheapens the love part. Honestly, when I read “The Time Traveler’s Wife” in your comment, the sex stuff was the first thing I thought of. That’s not a good sign.

    • Ha! I’m sure everyone has those words that make them want to scream. Don’t be surprised if you get quite a few comments. My favorite comment on mine was “buoy.” She said she hated it because there was no way to say it without sounding stupid. Say it over and over and you’ll find it is the dumbest sounding word ever. Lol!

  10. I say the word “discharge” multiple times a day at work and, I too, hate it unless it is referring to sending the patient packing! YEAH!

Leave a Reply

