Springtime, Bleach, and a Piano.

I’m writing this post Monday night because I have made a resolution.  There will be absolutely no computer activity for the entire day on Tuesday.  No Facebook, e-mail, obsessive blog checking, on-line crosswords or games of any kind.  I’m going off-line and devoting my time to all the things I’ve been neglecting over the last three weeks, paying special attention to housework and time at the piano.  I’m appalled at the amount of time I’ve spent in front of this dumb computer screen lately.  Mostly it’s been to stay in contact with tech support so that I can have a working cell phone again.  Unfortunately, there’s a lot of waiting time and I spend that posting on Facebook, clearing out the never-ending stream of spam from my e-mail, and looking up stupid crap on Google.  As of now, at 10:45 pm on Monday night, all I have to show for it is a mile-high pile of laundry, a kitchen full of dirty dishes, and unbelievable rage and frustration in my heart and mind. 

Normal people would’ve just checked in periodically to see if tech support had left a message.  Did I mention that I’m not normal?  I’m obsessive compulsive, but about all the wrong things.  Maybe it’s more accurate to say I have a crusade mentality.  When I decide that something is going to happen, it’s got to happen before anything else gets done.  Period.  This could work to my advantage if I had this mentality about housework or organizing my closet.  It doesn’t work that way.  The current subject is a cell phone.  Past obsessions include cross-stitching, alphabetizing books or DVDs, or cleaning out the flower bed.  These are great things to get done, but not when there are no clean spoons or socks in the house.  It’s time to prioritize.

Right here, right now, I am making a vow to get the house clean on Tuesday.  This includes the dishes, the laundry (folded AND put away), the bathrooms, and the dusting and vacuuming.  The windows will be open and when Chris gets home the house will smell of springtime and bleach. If I get that done in time, I also vow to spend at least an hour at the piano.  I have not sat at the piano for at least a month.  With my limited ability, I can’t afford to miss that much practice.  Use it or lose it, as the saying goes. 

So there it is, for all the world to see.  I have to do it now.  I may go into withdrawals from the computer, but I’ll be able to sit down and devote my full attention to momfog on Wednesday, with absolutely no guilt.  What a feeling that will be.

One thought on “Springtime, Bleach, and a Piano.

Leave a Reply

