Lost In Translation: Technologically-Challenged Southern Woman Meets Indian Tech-Support Guy

I was lost.  My computer was stuck on the login screen and the password wouldn’t work.  I knew it was correct and the problem was probably that the password had been entered incorrectly in the first place.  I tried numerous typo-versions to no avail.  The only option was tech support.  The man answered and I thought, “Great.”  He was Indian.

Now I know the outsourced cliché.  Amazingly, this was my first experience.  Wow.  I waited 15 minutes while he tried to pull up my account information.  Every 30-45 seconds he said the following four phrases:  “I’m so sorry about the delay.  I appreciate your patience.  Give me approximately two more minutes.  It is my pleasure to serve you today.”    Then, he says, “Have you ever called before?”  No.  “Oh, I apologize for the delay but please wait two minutes while I get an account set up for you.”  I’m no genius, but shouldn’t that have been the first question?

Then it truly got bad.  I had to give him my e-mail address–one letter at a time, three times, because apparently I don’t enunciate very clearly.  By the third time I sounded like an automated recording.  Then came time for the serial number.  Unfortunately, ours contained the combination of 5V9.  Southerners have a grudge against the long i sound, so that five and nine are almost indistinguishable, especially when conversing from the other side of the globe.  By the third time he had the 5 and 9 straight, but kept asking, “Z as in zulu or B as in bravo?”  V. V. V.  V as in VIC-TO-RY.  I’d forgotten the proper phonetic alphabet, but I was close.  V as in victor.  Who would be the victor here?

Finally I got to explain my problem.  And he laughed at me.  He was under the impression that I made up a password today and forgot it TODAY when I tried to enter it.  Not true.  But I shudder to think if I’d tried to explain.  “Did you try any troubleshooting tips to fix this problem?”  I didn’t know what to do.  Another laugh.  He tells me what to do and gives me strict instructions to not touch anything until someone can lead me through it.  I was beginning to feel a little insulted.  I think he was too.  I repeated a number back to him because I thought he said it wrong and he said, “That’s what I said.”  Sorry, but you didn’t hear me getting smart when I had to repeat everything four or five times. 

But,  the misunderstandings between Southerner and Indian came to a successful conclusion.  The computer works, and he ended the conversation with, ” I appreciate your patience and it was a pleasure to serve you today.”  I think he really meant it…

Lost In Translation:

  • Me:  T42I  
  • Him:  5?  9?  Y? 
  • Me:   No.  I, as in ICE CREAM. 
  • Him:  Oh.  I, as in INDIA.
3 thoughts on “Lost In Translation: Technologically-Challenged Southern Woman Meets Indian Tech-Support Guy

  1. I had one of those situations one time on the phone. I don’t know who was having the harder time, me or him. I finally asked for an English speaking person. LOL

  2. was his name Peggy?
    Well it is on the commercial !~ you remember the experience I had and I wasn’t exagerating !
    Could someone tell me. . . Why Can’t we Talk to someone who speaks English ??? I mean without pressing ” 1 ” Someone who butchers it as bad as the rest of us someone right here in our own hemisphere ? I even read that your drive thru order may be taken by someone in , , , Where ever it was ! Do they know what Special sauce is ? or Extra Pickle ?

Leave a Reply

