Respect and Silent Movies

Daily Foglifter:  The U.S. quarter has 119 ridges on its edge.  The dime has 118.

Well, I gotta say, there are some hatin’ people out there.  I got a lot of responses yesterday and you people hate a lot of things.  The most common were commercials and people who talk during movies.  Actually, it wasn’t that people talk during movies, it was the commentary people give while watching movies or people who have to have the movie explained to them.  That last one I found particularly funny as my dad is notorious for asking what’s going on during movies and television shows.  Not because he can’t follow the story, but because he’s fallen asleep at a key moment and when he wakes up, he’s lost.  It drives my mom crazy.

Here’s a list of some of the “hates” I received:

  • Side-seat or backseat drivers. particularly when a passenger uses an imaginary brake pedal.
  • Driving behind slow drivers
  • Being interrupted
  • Being asked a question, and when an answer is given, the person who asked the question disputes the answer.  Why ask in the first place if you knew you were only willing to accept one answer–yours?
  • People who comment on the realism of movies or television shows
  • People who ask, “What’s happening?” during a movie, especially if they come in when the movie is half over.
  • Watching a movie with someone who says, “I love this part!” and then proceeds to describe it in detail, thereby robbing the other person the experience of seeing it for themselves.  Even without the description, this is annoying and can set up unrealistic expectations.
  • Stupid people
  • Being told, “No Problem,” after thanking someone you paid to do a service. Uh, yeah, it should be no problem, since it’s your job and I paid you to do it.
  • Commercials that try to make people feel inferior for not using their products.
  • Materialism enforced by advertising

What do we learn from this list?

  1. We want respect.  For our abilities.  For our opinions.  For our right to finish a sentence.  For our patronage.  For our intelligence.  For our feelings.
  2. We want to watch movies in peace.  If you missed something, try to catch up.  If you can’t, watch it another time.  If you want to discuss the merits or faults of the movie, wait until it’s over.  In short, no questions or comments until the credits are rolling.

I could mention that everything we hate is a direct attack on our ego, buy why be unpleasant?  Let’s just read our quote and get on with the day.

 Do to others as you would have them do to you.  ~Luke 6:31 (NIV)

5 thoughts on “Respect and Silent Movies

  1. AMEN!!!

    Out of curiosity . . . how do they know how ridges are on quarters & dimes? Did someone actually sit down & count them? I’m just saying!

  2. I’m sorry, but no problem is my go-to response at work. Just is. It has nothing to do with the customer; when you help 800 people a day, it’s just routine.

    On the other side of the coin, my retail hates:

    I hate when people call the store and say, “Hi, I’m looking for a particular title and want to see if you have it. I have this info and this number and this is why I want it and hem and haw and blah blah blah.” A word of advice to customers: employees aren’t bothered by you calling to ask a question. They are bothered when you don’t get to the point.

    I hate when people say they’re looking for a book and they don’t know the title but they know it’s purple. I want to say, “Oh, it’s in the purple section!” This is not to say I can’t deal with incomplete info; I just need SOMETHING to work with.

    I hate when people ask if “The Help” is in paperback. (it’s always “The Help.”) I PROMISE that we’re not hiding the cheaper books. If it was out, we’d give you that one.

    I could go on, but I’m sure I’ll make non-retail employees mad that I don’t love all customers :0).

    • I thought there’d be some comment about that “No problem.” Thanks for the retail angle. “The customer is always right” has been ingrained so deeply, some of us think it’s actually true. BTW, there’s this red book I want because my mom read it and said it would really help me with my fear of pizza that began when I was 12 and saw my dog, who I’d had since I was 6, get hit by a Dominos delivery guy’s car, who was bringing us pizza, since it was my birthday. Do you know where I might find that and do you have it in paperback?

Leave a Reply

