Misery Loves Company

Daily Foglifter:  In Alanis Morissette’s Ironic, the only true example of irony is the title, in that it implies the song is about irony, but, in fact, contains no actual irony. 

I’m really sorry about that “fact” up there.  I realize it’s about a song from 1995 and what I have to say is not new, but I heard it on the radio today, and it DRIVES ME CRAZY!  I realize that if you analyze the lyrics TO DEATH, you may be able to squeeze out an ironic-ish example, but the whole song is called Ironic, not One Sort of Ironic Situation and a Bunch of Other Stuff That Makes For A Bad Day.  I’ve even heard the excuse that it was called Ironic because it WASN’T ironic in order to MAKE it ironic. Yeah. Whatever.

 

I am so ticked off right now.  I had finished writing and was looking for some pictures when my stupid computer froze.  I thought I was okay, because there’s a little thing at the bottom of my screen that says it saves every couple of minutes, but apparently not.  I lost about an hour of work.  Ugh.  I hate computers.

Know what else I hate?

I hate it when film studios make the exact same movie, give it a different name and hope  no one notices.  The one I’m thinking of now is “The Roomate.”  I saw that when it was called “Single White Female.”

I hate it when waiters and waitresses don’t write down orders.  It’s not that impressive and almost guarantees that something is going to be messed up.  It is especially annoying when they come back and ask you to repeat some part of it.  It’s hard enough for me to keep it straight the first time.  Write it down, please.

I hate the “The More You Know” spots on television.  The last thing I need is an over-payed, pampered actor telling me how to raise my kids or how much water to use when I bathe.  A long hot shower is often a mother’s only respite.  Stop trying to make me feel guilty about it.

I hate Spam.  This morning I had 50 messages in my Spam filter.  50!  I don’t have any teenagers to send to Boot Camp.  I don’t need a new car insurance quote every day, nor do I need a credit card to build my credit.  It would be nice to have the fifty $100 Wal-Mart gift cards I win every day.  If this whole marriage thing doesn’t work out, it’s nice to know I have a back-up plan–a Big and Beautiful Latino over the age of 45 is out there waiting for me at Singlesnet.  In the meantime, I can put beautiful new bamboo flooring in my specially designed log cabin, add some home gym equipment, which I’ll use while eating my free pizza and doing online courses from the University of Phoenix, where I’ll earn my degree in medical transcription.

I hate being sick.  A friend of mine once described his cold like this:  “It feels like somebody stuffed pillows into all my sinus cavities and then hit me between the eyes with a Louisville Slugger.”  That would be how I’ve felt for the last couple of days.  That explains why the house is a mess, I’m yelling at the kids (more than usual) and I’m in such a nasty mood.  What better way to make yourself feel better than to share the misery with everyone you know?

What do you hate?  What drives you crazy?  How much can you take before you let it loose on anyone who happens to be standing within three feet of you?  Apparently, all it takes for me is an old stupid song playing on the radio and a computer glitch.

 

There are a good many real miseries in life that we cannot help smiling at, but they are the smiles that make wrinkles and not dimples.
Author: Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr.

16 thoughts on “Misery Loves Company

  1. lol u r right misery does love company and i bet this post attracts a lot of comments lol!…i hate when im interrupted. i also hate people comment FIRsT..who cares?…one more..i also hate when im driving and the passenger is over there pushing their imaginary brake pedal…i got this!

    • those are good ones. Just so you know, you are the FIRST one to post a comment. If you “Like” it, you’ll be the FIRST of your friends to do so. I may be guilty of the imaginary brake pedal thing, but it’s just instinct. Lol!

      • No. . . .Husband holding on for dear Life to the HAND GRIP aBOVE CAR DOOR as if he is about to be ejected from the vehicle. while I am driving 35mph ~ too funny !!

  2. I hate it when someone asks me a question & then disputes the answer that I give them. If you knew the answer, or weren’t going to take my advise, why did you ask me?

    I hate driving behind people who drive slow. Most officers will allow you 5 -10 miles over the specified limit, unless you are in a school zone or a residential area.

    I hate watching a movie & having someone come in in the middle of the movie & ask me what’s happening. Or, better yet, I hate watching a movie with someone & they ask me about whats going on. HELLO, we started watching this at the same time. You are seeing what I am seeing!

    Oh, I could go on & on & on . . . Erin, did you really want to get me started on this? LOL

    Try to enjoy the rest of your day!

    Love Ya!

    • How about watching a movie with somebody who is always saying, “That could never happen.”? It’s a movie! Look at the characters! Do you know that many attractive people? Does anyone actually talk like that? If you want realism, watch a documentary. Argh.

    • I hate when I’m watching a movie with someone and they say “I love this part!” or “This part is so good/funny/scary!” or they describe everything that is about to happen in a particular scene. It’s like wow, thanks for ruining that part of the movie for me. I figured I’d chime in since you guys were talking about this you hate about watching movies. 🙂

    • You would hate watching movies with me! I do the exact thing you just mentioned. My mother and husband get really ticked at me.

  3. Brett and I had a Facebook discussion about 2 months ago on the non-irony of that song. The only true irony being it’s now ironic. And, the only semi-irony you could pull would be of the “cosmic” variety.

    I hate when I am paying someone to perform a service and when I thank them, they answer with “No Problem.” You’re right it’s NO PROBLEM, I just paid you do it. If it were a problem, maybe you need to find a new line of work.

  4. I hate commercials….especially the ones that mean to make me feel like I am less of a person without said product. There’s a McDonald’s that absolutely KILLS me, especially since it’s aimed at children. A kid’s soccer team loses a game and they’re feeling a bit down on themselves and looking sad. Then a coach shows up with an armful of happy meals and the children break out in cheers and smiles. Now the children of the winning team are the ones looking dejected. What’s the message there? Use food to make yourself feel better when you’re sad, children. Fill yourself with food when you’re down. WTH?

    There’s another one I saw the other day that rubbed me the wrong way. It was for a jewelry store I believe. A man gives his wife/girlfriend a gold and diamond necklace for Valentine’s Day and she looks at the camera and says, “This is how I know I am loved”. Seriously?! Because the only way your significant other can make you feel loved is by buying you stuff. *rolls eyes*

Leave a Reply

