Just Another Manic Monday

Daily Foglifter:  More than 1/3 of all sick days occur on a Monday.

It’s Monday.  It’s raining and I have a cold.  My son missed the bus, but luckily (for me), my husband was home sick so he could get the other three kids to the bus while I drove my son to school.  Fighting the car rider line in the rain is a nightmare.  Traffic wasn’t any better on the way home fighting the elementary school crowd.  As I drove up the driveway, my husband was racing to the end of the street, just  as the bus was pulling up.  I thought, “Oh no, she won’t recognize his truck.”  Fortunately, he was flashing his lights so she’d stop.  They barely made it. 

Oh Monday, why do you have to live up to your reputation?

I was going to write about books today, but I’m too tired to do the subject justice.  So how about something more fun?  How about games? 

Games are an excellent way to get your brain working.  Some great examples are word games, trivia, Sudoku, or crossword puzzles.  If you’re looking for a challenge, Cryptic or British Crosswords will give your brain a workout.  These are not easy to find in book form, but there are many websites that carry them.  The site I use is http://thinks.com/crosswords/cryptic/cryptic.htm . ( Hint:  This site has a solve option.  I suggest using this the first couple of times to get an idea of how they work.  It takes a while to get the hang of it, but when you complete your first one, you’ll feel wicked smart!)

My favorite game site is www.pogo.com.  It’s free and has a wide variety of games.  My favorites are Crossword Cove, Trivial Pursuit, and Word Whomp.

I also love Variety Puzzle Books.  These can be purchased in the magazine section of most grocery stores.  The website is https://www.pennydellpuzzles.com/subcategory.aspx?c=variety.  These books include Sudoku, crosswords, cryptograms, word jumbles, and much more.  

If you seriously want to rev up the brain power, you could use a site like Lumosity. Lumosity is a “brain training” program designed by scientists.  The games are categorized by skill, and results are tracked and graded.  It is a paid service, but the site does offer a two-week free trial, no strings attached.  I’ve done it myself, and seriously considered subscribing.  The games are challenging but fun.  The website is  http://www.lumosity.com/.

I must warn you that games can be addictive, particularly the on-line versions.  Considering that, it’s probably not a good idea to do them while at work.  Even at home, it’s easy to keep saying, “Just one more round,” until it’s 4:00, the dishes are still in the sink, the laundry is unfolded on the couch, and the dinner roast is still rock-solid in the freezer.  My solution is to do my “gaming” while having my morning coffee or eating my lunch. 

Well, Anna is dumping out the salt shaker onto the floor so I better end this. When did she get tall enough to reach the countertop?  Nothing passes the time faster than a growing baby!  

Happy Gaming!

“Our whole life is solving puzzles.” Erno Rubik 

                                                                                                                 

Leave a Reply

