Saturday Stew

Daily Foglifter:  There are 53 Saturdays in 2011. 

 

Saturday.  It’s the one day of the week that I don’t have to get up early.  In fact, I have a 9:00 rule for Saturdays.  My kids are not allowed to wake me up before 9:00 am, unless there’s an emergency.  My kids are perfectly capable of feeding and entertaining themselves until then.  If my husband is home (and awake), I get to sleep even longer.  I live for the Saturday sleep-in.  The rest of the day?  Ah, there’s the rub.

Saturdays are loud.  It’s the day of adjusting to everyone being in the same house, all day, with no break.  The kids are letting loose after a week of school, where they have to be quiet, attentive, and well-behaved.  This “letting loose” primarily consists of arguing, whining, yelling, crying and fighting. 

Saturdays are also the preparation for Sunday.  That means cleaning the house, finishing the laundry, and doing any last-minute grocery shopping.  There must be easy snacks that require no more than a quick turn in the microwave.  There must be clothes for church and to change into after church.  There must be a relatively clean house.  Having these things in order makes it possible for me to take an After Church Nap with no guilt.  (Note:  I don’t sleep my life away.  I use the weekend to catch up on the sleep I’ve lost during the week.)

Saturdays are, quite possibly, the busiest day of my week.  They are, by far, the most stressful.  I suspect this is true for most moms.  I combat it by setting aside at least an hour of “me time.”  I spend this time reading a book, doing a crossword puzzle, or, lately, by writing a blog.  It makes the day a little more bearable.  

So, start a Saturday tradition.  Schedule one hour for “quiet time.”  Send the kids to their rooms to read or draw.  Grab a cup of coffee and curl up on the couch with a good book.  It’ll be good for you and the kids.

“Every man has a right to a Saturday night bath.”    ~Lyndon B. Johnson

Leave a Reply

