Trial and Error

Daily Foglifter:  There are 137 words that begin with the letter x. 

 x-ray, xylophone, xenophobia, xerox…um, I’m pretty sure there’s only 4.

 

What a week it’s been.  I started a blog, gave up home schooling, sent my son to middle school, caught a cold, and learned a new language (techie).  Well, I may be exaggerating on that last one.  I think I’m in the ma-ma/da-da stage of that one.  Point is, I feel good today.

I looked over the posts for this week and I did write a lot about the family.  A lot of typical momblog stuff, but I still feel good about it.  Most of my time was spent learning the basics of blog building, and it was tough!  To say I’m not computer savvy is an understatement.  Five months ago, when I got the internet for the first time, I had to ask at least three different people how to use Facebook.  Last week, I had to ask my husband how to get downloaded songs from my computer to a CD or an MP3 player.  Seriously.

As hard as the technical stuff is for me, the actual blog is worse.  The idea of opening myself up for the whole world to see and to judge is my Hell on Earth.  I considered using an alias.  (If everyone thinks Millicent Millpot is an idiot, it wouldn’t hurt so much.)  Then I decided to stop being a coward.  Besides, I was overdramatizing it.  There are thousands upon thousands of blogs out there, so what’s one more?  If people read it, great!  If not, I still win because I get to write a little every day, which is why I started a blog  in the first place.

I am closing the first week of my blog.  The traffic has been respectable, considering I only had family and friends to depend upon.  The feedback could be better (hint, hint).  I welcome criticism, but try to be constructive.  In case you don’t know the difference, “You suck,” may be accurate, but it’s not exactly helpful.  Tell me why I suck, please.

I added another page called “Express Yourself!” I included some links to websites that may be helpful in finding something creative to do.  So, if you want a hobby, I hope it will be useful.  Another thing to keep in mind:  Some people have been able to turn their hobbies into part-time or full-time jobs.  You’ll never know until you try.

I’m taking the weekend to learn more about blogs.  It’s going to be a loooong weekend.

“It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.”
Theodore Roosevelt

9 thoughts on “Trial and Error

  1. I personally am addicted to your blogs. I can’t wait to see what you are going to write about. I wish I could do it, but then again, I have trouble writing a simple letter. I do better (sometimes) telling you in person what I want to say.

    I am enjoying goodreads.com; thank you for the link.

    Keep up the good work. OBTW, I have passed your blog to a couple a my friends. You’ll “catch on”!

    • I’m really proud of your persistence! Showing off your blog has been like showing off a new grandchild. Hold on to your foghat(wasn’t that a group in the 80’s?). You’re gonna be overwhelmed! Love you!

  2. I’m adding it to my RSS on Google Reader – which I can explain to you if that’s foreign as well 8o) – so I’ll definitely be following. I’m not much of a commenter usually, though, but I am enjoying it.

    • I don’t really know what RSS is, but I understand it’s a way for people to follow my blog. That’s good enough for me! Thanks for reading and for the comment.

  3. Erin:

    You are so right about turning your hobby into a job. I did interior design work for family and friends for years before my first real client (she paid me!?), said, “You need to be doing this for a living. Go get some business cards printed and market yourself.” So, I did. One job led to another; and now I own a shop along with my daughter and son-in-law. You can’t be afraid of taking chances, but most importantly you need to keep your priorities in order and always seek God’s will in everything you do. YOU have a God given talent. Where will it lead?

  4. I have really enjoyed reading your blogs. I will continue on, as I have only read up till now. I, like Jamie, am terrible with commenting, but have found your blogs very interesting.

    • Well, thank you for commenting today! I never know who’s actually reading the thing unless they leave a comment. I’m glad you find it interesting and don’t feel obligated to comment. Compared to the number of people who do read, very few of them leave comments anyway. No big deal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

