Out On a Limb

I know what you’re thinking.  Does the world really need another momblog?   Maybe not, but it’s getting one.

I decided to start a blog while looking for work from home opportunities.  Nearly every prospect listed “being an experienced blogger” as an asset.  Well, as someone who didn’t even have the internet in her home until 5 months ago, I knew I was at a disadvantage.  I had no idea how to start a blog so I did what everyone does when they want to know how to do something.  I Googled it.  Yikes.

While reading through countless articles, I got the basic idea.  Find a platform.  Find and research a  niche.  Start blogging.  Finding a platform was easy.  It had to be free.  It had to be designed so that a first grader could use it.  Mission accomplished.

Find a niche.  A no-brainer, right?  I’m a stay-at-home-mom and have been for 10 years, hence, a momblog.  So I Googled momblog and my computer nearly caught on fire.  There are momblogs for everything!  There are momblogs dedicated to parenting methods, green living, baby products, and terrible twos.  Some moms prefer to create online scrapbooks to share with the world.  Other moms concentrate on the trials of raising children with disabilities.  Still more moms use their blogs as a platform to simply vent their frustrations.  I was overwhelmed!  What was I supposed to do?  What else is there for a mom to write about?  EVERYTHING has been hashed and rehashed.

And then it came to me.  I had momfog.

What is momfog?

Momfog is the condition of a mother’s brain after countless hours of WonderPets, Spongebob Squarepants, and Yo Gabba Gabba!  It’s the result of being slobbered on, puked on, and peed on.  It’s the state of mind that says, “I have a free night! I think I’ll get caught up on laundry, playdate schedules, and rearranging the kids’ closet” and being HAPPY about it.

Do you remember when you had outside interests?  When your social life didn’t depend on ballet class or football practice?  It’s in there.  It’s just lost in the fog.

I’m not suggesting that life can ever be what it was before children.  Why would we want that anyway?  Children are awesome.  My children are who I am and it is my pleasure (most of the time) to go out of my way for them.  They define my life.  BUT, there is room in our lives for serious books, adult themed movies or theater, or ridiculously priced lattes in pretentious coffee shops.

I’m hoping this blog will be a place to discuss these things, ALONG WITH the crazy stories of motherhood and the unbelievable lengths our children will go to undermine our efforts to “branch out.”

So that’s momfog in a nutshell–a big coco de mer nutshell.  Future posts will be more the almond-sized variety.

FYI, the coco de mer nut is considered the largest nut in the world.  It can weigh up to 65 lbs.  See?  We’re already lifting the fog.

coco de mer nut                                  almond

http://www.slashfood.com/2006/11/20/worlds-largest-nuts/

6 thoughts on “Out On a Limb

  1. I love it Erin— there are plenty of times when you just need to let someone know the struggles, frustations and questions so that hopefully they can help provide you with an answer.
    About three years ago, when I got word from the family doctor that I needed to do something for me. I explored getting back to basics of who I was.
    I enjoyed reading, I enjoyed dancing, I enjoyed music, I enjoyed horseback…. at one time long before children and even before marriage. Because once I got married I thought I was suppose to cook, clean and provide.
    All that being said, I now read every other night just because, I enjoy the gym while the kids play and I teach dance/exercise to music I enjoy. Dont get me wrong, I love my children and my husband, but I had to do something for ME.
    Congrats— Good Luck!

  2. Erin . . . I luv it!! I can’t wait to read more.

    My only question is HOW? How does one make time for herself when she has no help from her husband? Right now, my “my time” is after everyone goes to bed . . . most nights, I don’t go to bed til 2:00. There’s got to be another way.

    Anyway, good luck on your venture!! Again, I look forward to reading more.

    • If there is another way, I haven’t figured it out yet. I’m also up very late just to get a little peace. I’m willing to sacrifice sleep for it, but then the whole next day I can barely function. I’m planning an article on this very thing. Maybe I can find some reasonable solution from moms who have been there.

Leave a Reply

